We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service”

Betty Jo Byoloski's
Ranked #59 of 85 Restaurants in Winona
Restaurant details
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went on a Wednesday night, our daughter was registering for classes the next day at WSU. It has many TVs for sports watching but also had some cute Minnesotan type decoration similar to what you used to see in Applebee's or TGIFriday's in the old days. It seemed a little more family friendly than the Jefferson next door which had everyone sitting in the bar.

I got the chicken faitija wrap, my daughter got the LTB (BLT) with waffle fries, and my husband got the Byoloski (pulled pork sandwich with garlic sauce and a bit of a kick). We thought our food was good and the price was decent.

The service was pretty slow. She brought our drinks right away, but it took about 40 mins to get our food. The restaurant was about half full. Then it took awhile to get the bill. Not terrible, but not great. The menu looked good and our food was good so we may try them again when we come down to visit our daughter at school.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bzymom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
“Poor service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Slow and horrible service! Not once but on 3 separate occasions. Came on a night called "All you can eat spaghetti night" and they were out of spaghetti by 7 pm! Another time that we came, we were told it was a slow night so the waitress decided to go home early and we needed to go to order our food/drinks at the bar, Wow! The last time we came in, they gave us our drinks and we ordered food but they forgot to come back to refreshen our drinks and an hour later we received our food. It seems like the help likes to hang around with their friends more at the bar than to work on giving their patrons fast and efficient service. No real good reason to patronize this bar/restaurant. The food, atmosphere and service are not very good. Unless they make major changes, I wouldn't waste my time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtodineout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great little sports pub with a great Tuesday night special. All u can eat spaghetti and wings with a good beer selection, plenty of T.V.s and adequate help.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always Busy - Always Good”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The food is always very good and reasonable. Their Friday fish fry is outstanding. Good service, plenty of room and just a fun place to hang out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweats24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Horrible Service!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

While the food tasted ok the service was really bad. I’m not sure if it was our server’s first day EVER or if she was just that bad. I knew as soon as the server came out and said we had to change our orders because they were out of baked potatoes it was going to be interesting! Someone got batter fried fish instead of broiled, a very well done stake when asked for medium rare, we were not asked if we wanted a salad or coleslaw so some got the salad while others got coleslaw. Also, we were there for a total of 3 hours. I don’t think I’ve EVER been at a restaurant that long!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty Jo Byoloski's also viewed

 

Been to Betty Jo Byoloski's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing