We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but good place to stay”
Review of Super 8 Winona MN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Winona MN
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No frills but good place to stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited my daughter at Winona State for the weekend. Good price! No frills but a continental breakfast and clean, quiet room on the back side of hotel next to Sugarloaf Bluff. Wireless was a little weak in the room but could pick it up strong in the lobby over a free cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Choose the back side away from the parking lot and Hwy 61.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeser0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    95
    108
    43
    22
See reviews for
133
63
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winona
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

You get what you pay for. This is a low budget hotel. Thin walls, thin doors, thin floors. Non smoking rooms smell musty and smell like they were once smoking rooms. Dirty floors, holey mattresses, unwashed linens when I got there. Didn't have my reservation when I checked in.

Room Tip: Choose second or third floor. First floor is below ground. Rooms on the south side might be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbie7625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Price was right
Basic room, coffee pot, hot water
Wi-fi
Clean? Ok-keep your socks on
basic breakfast, getting really good with the waffle machine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. Easy to reach, good parking, close to shopping mall. Rooms have a decent size, bathroom and carpets seemed fairly clean. Working WiFi even at the end of the building. Free breakfast is better than in other hotels of similar price range. Service is quite friendly once you get them going. Overall: for the price ($65.00 plus taxes) definitely worth it. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main road (can be a bit noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINLEY PARK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is the 4th motel we have stayed in since our daughter started at WSU in the Fall of 2011. For the money, it is the best value compared to the Holiday Inn Express, AmericInn and the Plaza. The rooms are comfortable, affordable, the breakfast with the Bloedow doughnuts is very nice. The last time we stayed we used a coupon from our daughter's Saver Coupon book with brought the price of our room down to $49. Everywhere else is at least $80-$90 a night. Would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the parking lot side that faces the bluff are quieter, but we have stayed on both sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here March 4, 2012. The room and morning breakfast were satisfactory; I would say very good for the price. There did seem to be pride in the management of the motel. The toilet was running slow, but I was able to use their plunger and get it going ok. I agree with the other reviews that say ok but not exceptional. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilburrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

No frills hotel but exceptionally clean and a friendly and efficient staff. They were very accommodating. First we needed a fridge to keep my husband's medications in and then we needed to change rooms types from a single king to a double queen while still keeping the fridge. We literally switched rooms in a manner of 8 minutes. Had a nice complimentary breakfast that included make yourself waffles(fresh batter and you operated this niftly little waffle iron). It was truly a great bang for your buck. We definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
3.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
0.2 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
20.2 mi away
Prairie Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Winona MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winona MN

Property: Super 8 Winona MN
Address: 1025 Sugar Loaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987-4125 (Formerly Nichols Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winona MN 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Winona MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing