We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Winona MN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Winona MN
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here March 4, 2012. The room and morning breakfast were satisfactory; I would say very good for the price. There did seem to be pride in the management of the motel. The toilet was running slow, but I was able to use their plunger and get it going ok. I agree with the other reviews that say ok but not exceptional. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilburrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    89
    99
    42
    20
See reviews for
120
55
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

No frills hotel but exceptionally clean and a friendly and efficient staff. They were very accommodating. First we needed a fridge to keep my husband's medications in and then we needed to change rooms types from a single king to a double queen while still keeping the fridge. We literally switched rooms in a manner of 8 minutes. Had a nice complimentary breakfast that included make yourself waffles(fresh batter and you operated this niftly little waffle iron). It was truly a great bang for your buck. We definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a good basic motel right off highway 90 on the edge of Winona. The staff was very helpful and polite, and the breakfasts were great! We got a room with a microwave and refrigerator (for a few dollars more) which helped me a lot in making safe meals (food allergies).

There had been heavy rains earlier in the week so the rooms were quite musty and the windows were open to refresh the rooms when we arrived. (This was in spite of the fact that the temperature was in the 40s!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have stayed at Nichols Inn many times since their renovation, and always a target when we are in the area. Nice, clean rooms, comfortable, easy access, and good rates, with excellent desk service make it a good value. Front desk staff has been very friendly, professional and efficient. Breakfast provided is just right. Not the fanciest, but a very good value, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClipperCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Green
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Nichols Inn was a pleasant surprise. It is not modern, but it is a comfortable, clean hotel. They are friendly and accommodating. We recently traveled to Winona for a family emergency. We traveled through the night and were exhausted. Nichols allowed us to check in at noon, which was wonderful. It allowed us to take a short nap once things stabilized. The room was quiet, clean and cool. The air conditioner was relatively quiet for a room air conditioner. The beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast the next morning save us some time and money. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Definitely will return to this comfortable, reasonably price motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Although we found the hotel staff very helpful, the room clean, the beds comfortable I didnt enjoy our view from our basement (they call it first floor) room. If there had been a tornado, yes, we would have been safe and yes, it was quiet. However, I felt very closed in and since we stayed for a entire week it would have been nice to have a third floor room with a view of the city. I learned to always ask to see the room before you check in. Breakfast was great, yummy waffles and good coffee. Yes, I would stay again but only if I had a better room and view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azfoodeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while in town for a wedding. The floor was more comfy than the bed. Took the night staff over 30 minutes to get us another pillow. It was also very noisy. Noise started at 5:30am and was ridiculous. People yelling, slamming doors, running up and down the stairs. The floors creaked so you could hear every footstep. Even talking in a normal voice you could hear in another room.We finally just got up, packed our bags and left. And the breakfast they offer? consists of stale cereal and hard waffles (that you make yourself). The staff there didn't seem to care either. Please take my advice and stay elsewhere...if another hotel isn't available, sleep in your car or drive to the next city. not worth the money (although cheap prices).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmseverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.2 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
22.4 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
20.2 mi away
Prairie Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Winona MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winona MN

Property: Super 8 Winona MN
Address: 1025 Sugar Loaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987-4125 (Formerly Nichols Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winona MN 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Winona MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing