We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverport Inn Express Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverport Inn Express Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very average hotel but at a very good price. Pool, lobby, and beds are in good condition; but everything else needs serious updating. The staff were friendly and pleasant, and there were no disturbances during the night. This is the first time we were staying overnight in Winona and it depends on the availability of other hotels on whether or not we would stay again. Overall, good hotel for staying a night or two to see a football game, very well priced.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank portlandiajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
24
19
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for business, and the place has everything I could have asked for: Clean, comfortable rooms, a large pool and hot tub, a bar with cheap drinks and excellent food, good location and good conference facilities. A good free breakfast, including pancakes, waffles and french toast. There is a fridge and microwave in every room. It has several prominent businesses adjacent as well for any shopping you may need to do during your stay including Target, Mills Fleet Farm and MGM Liquor. My only complaint, and it's a minor, one was with the french dip and philly sandwiches in the restaurant. All of the other food I saw seemed to have generous portions. The big club was huge and tasty. They also have a huge bacon cheeseburger that was amazing. But for some reason, the french dip and its cousin the philly were tiny. I could have easily eaten two. They were awesome taste-wise, just too small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

It is very clean and easonably priced. Lots of family oriented pool activity Located next to shopping. Target is right next door. There is a Walmart just a short walk away.

Breakfast is typical continental fare for a hotel. Funny little pancake maker that shoots out pancakes about the size of a quarter.

Handy place to stay if you have a student at Winona State.

Nice little pub called Brewskis right in the hotel.

Staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeser0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I can't believe this property is rated is high as it is on Trip Advisor. We stayed there on a Saturday night and the room stunk. Dirty and worn out, it desperately needs to be remodeled. It's possible it was just the one room but I doubt it. Staff was friendly and when we complained they offered our money back so we could move to another hotel. That's what we did.

Room Tip: Avoid this one - the Holiday Inn Express is owned by the same group according to the desk person at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinm397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here as we attended a wedding reception that was held here. The night after we left the hotel, my body started to burn & itch very bad & then all the welts started....I am horrified as I have never had contact with bed bugs before. We stayed in room 111 which is poolside. Also when using the sink....the water & drain would smell very strong of sewer smell, Was almost impossible to brush my teeth with. I contacted the manager today to inform them & she did not seem concerned (& I do not think she believed me). No apology at all from her. The rooms look ok but BEWARE!! I have spent my entire day today washing everything that we had at the hotel in hot water....hope it's good enough & that none came home with us!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegoodfood899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverportinn, General Manager at Riverport Inn Express Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us.
The Riverport does not have BED BUGS! We are aware of the risks to our hotel with guests staying with us from around the world.
*The Riverport received a 100% on our Winona County Lodging Inspection.
*We are contracted with Wil Kil and inspected every 3 weeks.
*We treat our beds every 2 weeks as preventative maintenance.
*We recently purchased all new beds for every room.
*We have a new bedding package that includes triple sheeting and down comforters.
*The room you stayed in has had 27 different guests stay before you and 7 guests since your stay last weekend and we have had no complaints.
Please feel free to call me personally to discuss any of your concerns. A copy of our Winona County Lodging report as well as Wil Kil reports are available to anyone that would like to see them.

We need guest feedback to help us maintain the high standards that our guests expect and we welcome any comments you wish to share with us.
Again please accept my sincere apology and hopefully you will give us another chance to meet your hotel expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed just one night as we were in town for a music festival after a multiple day bicycle ride in this beautiful region. We had 2 beds and a really comfy recliner in the room along with a flat screen and the basic necessities. Check in / out were fine and the free continental breakfast was also standard - it was a busy weekend with multiple events and groups staying, but things seemed under control and decent. This is an older property with some upgrades here and there, and certainly passable for a nights stay - also certainly not the nicest place we've ever stayed, but it worked fine! Pool room is big and fun for families, and the bar / pizza joint attached were packed the evening we were there. Over all, this isn't a hotel that is going to amaze you, but it suits its purpose just fine.

Room Tip: Outside facing rooms do have a sliding door that allows fresh air into the room if it is a nice time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGuy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very good stay at the Riverport Inn. The check in/check out process was quick and easy. The location is great with a view of Sugar Loaf Bluff and close to the intersection of the major roads. The continental breakfast was enjoyable. The amenities of the heated indoor pool/hottub & workout room were great. The towels were wonderful because they did not have the smell of bleach and were not rough on the skin like some hotel towels can be. I did not rate this hotel excellent because I felt that the cleanliness of the room could have been stepped up a notch. ie dust along the edges of the room and one of the main chandeliers in the lobby needed new lightbulbs which is just a sign of negligence. Overall an excellent stay for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 6 in Winona
3.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Prairie Inn and Suites
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
24.5 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverport Inn Express Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverport Inn Express Suites

Property: Riverport Inn Express Suites
Address: 900 Bruski Drive, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverport Inn Express Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverport Inn Express Suites of Winona, Minnesota sits between the shores of the Mississippi River and the majestic bluffs surrounding Sugar Loaf Rock. Upon entering the Inn you will be greeted with a friendly smile from our staff, elegant surroundings and a relaxing atmosphere. All of our rooms have been recently updated with new drapes and plush bedding keeping our hotel competitively priced for comparable hotels in the area. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet which includes Belgian waffles and a variety of breakfast items. Rooms with whirlpools, wet bars, and fantasy suites are just some of the many room types available. Unwind with a swim in our luxurious indoor pool or a relaxing soak in our soothing whirlpool. Brewksi’s Pub & Grill, located just off our lobby, has a full menu and bar, along with large screen TVs to watch all the sporting action. Let "Winona’s Finest Lodging" be your home away from home when you visit Winona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riverport Inn Express Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverport Inn Express Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing