We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay, Decent Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Stay, Decent Place”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed just one night as we were in town for a music festival after a multiple day bicycle ride in this beautiful region. We had 2 beds and a really comfy recliner in the room along with a flat screen and the basic necessities. Check in / out were fine and the free continental breakfast was also standard - it was a busy weekend with multiple events and groups staying, but things seemed under control and decent. This is an older property with some upgrades here and there, and certainly passable for a nights stay - also certainly not the nicest place we've ever stayed, but it worked fine! Pool room is big and fun for families, and the bar / pizza joint attached were packed the evening we were there. Over all, this isn't a hotel that is going to amaze you, but it suits its purpose just fine.

Room Tip: Outside facing rooms do have a sliding door that allows fresh air into the room if it is a nice time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGuy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    23
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
29
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very good stay at the Riverport Inn. The check in/check out process was quick and easy. The location is great with a view of Sugar Loaf Bluff and close to the intersection of the major roads. The continental breakfast was enjoyable. The amenities of the heated indoor pool/hottub & workout room were great. The towels were wonderful because they did not have the smell of bleach and were not rough on the skin like some hotel towels can be. I did not rate this hotel excellent because I felt that the cleanliness of the room could have been stepped up a notch. ie dust along the edges of the room and one of the main chandeliers in the lobby needed new lightbulbs which is just a sign of negligence. Overall an excellent stay for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We visited this hotel with our children. We were very excited that we were allowed to check in early and the staff when we first checked in were amazing. However, that quickly changed. I believe that all rooms in this hotel have a balcony or patio. We stayed in a pool side room. A table and 4 chairs were directly outside outside our patio door going to the pool--to our assumption, on our patio--. We went to open up the the curtains on the patio door bacause we had heard something hit it (turns out to have been a chair). We had a large group having there supper on what we believed was our patio. That was rude enough, however when we opened the door to go out to the pool--hence the reason we got a poolside room--they would not move. We wound up walking through the hotel to use the main door to the pool area!
We called the office to ask questions--was it our patio? Was it okay to eat by the pool? We were NONE too impressed with the answers we received. The clerk told us that tables were first come first serve (so that means balconies must be as well?) and that food was not allowed. When we asked why they were allowed to eat by the pool, the clerk said they would take care of it. But then informed us that if a mess was made, we may be held responsible...ok, so its not our table, not our patio and they are people we do not know who are blocking the door to our room...but if they make a mess, WE are responsible??? And I should add that it took about 5 calls to even reach anyone at the desk.
We have stayed here several times, but do not think we will be returning anytime soon. My husband and myself have both tried to reach the manager, but as apparently is the norm, no one aswers!
What started out to be a great check in, went downhill very quick!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is very nice! The rooms were clean, and well supplied. The service was wonderful, and the staff was very friendly. Having the bar and grill right there was nice, and being able to go for a nice swim was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyock, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5 day stay at Riverport Inn. The rooms were clean and well stocked with amenities. They even upgraded all of the beds during our stay. Very comfortable nights sleep. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We took advantage of the pool, Brewskis' Pub and was able to keep up with our laundry. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinagirl129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Although the walls are thin, I had a decent night's sleep. Room is clean and well supplied. Really appreciated the microwave but the fridge was useless since it had not been plugged in. Rather than unplugging the light, perhaps you could make use of outlet expanders. One issue, common to too many hotels, is the miserably filthy coffee pots. The carafe is always sparkling, but the water reservoir is so disgustingly filthy. These units are rarely checked, cleaned or replaced. Hopefully this will change.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel may be quieter as it faces a Target rather than the main roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraVegas54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAN HORNE
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the onsite pub and the pizza was great. We will stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over40andoutforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
22.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
23.6 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center

Property: Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Address: 900 Bruski Dr, Winona, MN 55987-6206 (Formerly Riverport Inn Express Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 Beautiful Rooms, Suites, Jacuzzi and Theme Suites, Free Deluxe Hot Breakfast, Fridge and Microwaves in every room, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, 24 hour Fitness Center, 5,000 sq ft of fine quality banquet facilities, 3 diamond AAA rated, Free wireless internet, Guest Business Center, Brewski's Pub and Grill with Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverport Inn Express Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing