We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Was so pleased with the location and facility of this hotel, it will be a new favorite. It is surrounded by quite a bit of space and a distance from the highway, making for a more quite atmosphere than most hotels. Very nice new feel to it. Clean and spacious throughout. I didn't stay for breakfast, but it sure smelled good as I walked past. The staff were all friendly and helpful upon arrival, and as I came and went through the lobby throughout my stay. I will definitely return when I am traveling on this route.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
31
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I would rate the hotel a 3.5. We enjoyed the suite with whirlpool. It had a mini kitchen with microwave and coffeemaker, a separate sitting room, and closed-off bedroom. It had pretty nice remodeling. It had 3 TVs- including one in the bathroom. The whirlpool was nice, and next to a large mirror. The shower was large and even had 2 seats.

The breakfast was reasonable. Good place for kids as it has a pool area. We also enjoyed the exercise room. The negatives were that the heater turning on/off throughout the first night kept us up. Even leaving the blower at a constant High or Low didn't keep it from shutting on/off. We just shut it off and that was better. We tried to get a room facing Green Mill for quiet, as it was fairly noisy all night with the road traffic; however, all suite rooms face the road.

It was convenient to be near the Green Mill, and we ate there twice. The Marine Art Museum was a great site to see. Overall, a recommended place for Winona visit.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room, choose one facing the Green Mill vs. the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
278 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed in our last stay here but because of a lack of other options, we decided to give it another shot. This time it turned out to be a great experience once again. Friendly staff and a very comfortable, clean room. Were gracious in giving us a ground floor since we had the dog with this time. We will be back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed for one night over the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel was adequate - clean, fairly comfortable bed. The room was spacious. I prefer full service hotels, but this is the best Winona has to offer.

We had the family suite. It was nice to have a separate room for the kids - it was small with two twin beds, but perfect for kids. It was probably a little overpriced for a low-occupancy night in the middle of November.

The breakfast got mixed reviews from my party. Some people thought it was great, some found it underwhelming.

The pool was nice - with a dedicated kiddie pool. The kiddie pool was great as it meant that my little one could swim without an adult getting in the water. This was particularly nice as the pool water was FREEZING!

The hotel is directly across the street from a Green Mill - a quick and easy pizza dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoMom800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Were were in town for a 2 day dog show and this hotel was perfect. They have a dog walking area on the backside of the hotel with bags on hand for you to pick up after them. They hotel is very clean and the rooms are large as well are the bathrooms. there is even a tv in the bathroom! Now we didn't use / try the pool or breakfast but both looked great. There is a cantina by the front desk for any snacks or items you may have forgotten. front desk staff very helpfull in getting anything you may need. Plenty of food options around, a green mill right next door and you are given a $2.00 off coupon for there when you check in, We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I hadn't expected to stay at the Winona Holiday Inn Express however my reservation at a different place/different city was lost - I'm sure glad that it was. This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express. The entire place appeared to me to be well maintained. I had a double room which was generous sized, comfortable and nicely appointed.

The other thing is that I hadn't been to Winona before, nice city - I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is an average hotel, the rooms are normal, average. Nothing especial about it. The rates per night are good, the rooms are clean and have the basic things you need. The room was very hot, so it made it hard to fall asleep. Somehow it didn't cool down. We were on the first floor. It's location is centric and close by to restaurants and gas stations. The breakfast is very good, different options to choose from. The front desk was pleasant and the check in and check out is easy to do.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are hot, and don't cool down. If you open a window, you get the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariPeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, Front Desk Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. We were happy to know you found our rooms clean and that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. We were sorry to hear that your room was uncomfortably hot. We hope that you will try us again on your next visit to Winona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.3 mi away
Riverport Inn Express Suites
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 6 in Winona
3.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
21.3 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
22.2 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
Address: 1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona, MN, the newest hotel addition to the Winona Area.Conveniently located off HWY 61/43 the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona is minutes from Winona Lake Park, the Upper Mississippi Wildlife Area, and all recreational opportunities offered by our Upper Mississippi River location.Business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to major businesses such as Fastenal, TRW, RTP, and John Deere. If you are visiting St.Mary s University, the University of Winona, or Winona Technical College you will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers the finest accommodations for your stay. If you are bringing your family to Winona, MN, let the Holiday Inn Express and Suites be your home away from home as you enjoy local attractions such as Minnesota Equestrian Center, the Eagle Watch or Swan Watch, and Garvin Heights Lookout.Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers great amenities for both business and leisure guests including our Stay Smart Hot Breakfast, 24 hour business center, and free wired and wireless high speed internet throughout the hotel. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool and whirlpool; let the kids play in the zero entry kid s pool; wind down with a steam in our indoor sauna.Whether traveling on buisiness or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Winona is the right hotel choice for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winona
Holiday Inn Express Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing