We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun to stay in a restored carriage house on the main street of small town America!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Winona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have stayed at the Carriage House two consecutive summers to attent the Great River Shakespeare Festival, which is right across the street.
The B&B is a restored carriage house with beautiful and interesting furnishings. There is an attached screen porch overlooking the back yard which is where we have had breakfast (good muffins and fresh berries) or relaxed with a book. The owners have always been helpful and responsive!
This is a good biking city, with paths around the lakes and along the Mississippi River. There is safe storage for bikes.
The Amtrack Station is just a couple of blocks away, so guests could arrive by train.
We will return to this B&B again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe55414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 208 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2009

If you like enjoying the classic accomodations of a post Civil War home (I believe the owners told us that their B&B was built in 1870), then you will be happy with this place. I found it to be quite clean and comfortable and full of very traditional ammenities that were more about class and comfort versus high tech flash. The family that runs the place were kind and attentive to me and my fiances needs. I thought the cost of our stay versus the experience was a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJR2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at this bed and breakfast during our recent bicycling vacation from Minneapolis to LaCrosse. We stayed at 3 B&Bs along the way, and this one was by far the worst.
When we arrived (on bicycles) no one was there to greet us. An envelope with our name on it and room key was just clipped to the back door. Directions inside to where our room was in the carriage house. Bad start--in my opinion it is totally unacceptable for a B&B to have not a soul there to greet you. Even a Days Inn does better than that. We couldn't figure out where to store our bicycles, but eventually stuck them in a garage that didn't look like it was intended for guest use, but again, no host was there to help us out.
We stayed in the Toy Room. It seemed fairly small compared to other B&Bs along our route. I thought the kitschy, cutesy decor and faded toy covered wallpaper was awful. The carpeting was cheap, industrial carpeting, and the towels were worn. A spider also fell down from the ceiling onto me. Ick. Everything about the B&B seemed designed for the owners to be able to make a quick buck without having to do any actual work. The teddy bear on our bed and an afghan on the wall for labeled with prices for sale. Ugh. Not classy at all.
The common room downstairs had menus for many restaurants in the area, but since we were on foot none of them worked for us. Too bad no innkeeper was there to recommend a place. The "free guest wi-fi" was also not working.
Overall, we were extremely disappointed, left hungry (we went out to breakfast again right away), and feeling like we had just wasted $100 bucks on this Bed and Breakfast disaster.
A woman appeared in the morning who told us her name and put the food on the table. We were served a fruit bowl, a croissant, and coffee. Unfortunately, the fruit was completely covered in salt. One of the other guests tried to alert the woman to her error, asking for fruit without the salt on it. She corrected him, "You mean the sugar?" And being nice Minnesotans no one had the heart to continue to push the error. The croissant, luckily, was edible, but overall the breakfast was pretty skimpy for a B&B. Especially since we were biking, we hoped for heartier fare, something more than we could get from a grocery store bakery section.
The breakfast woman asked when we were going to be gone and left.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salyards, Owner at Carriage House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Most of the reviewer's comments dealt with style and opinion differences (carpet and wallpaper design) rather than substance.

My wife and I were out of town for a family weekend in Chicago and had our assistant take care of the business during our absence. She mistakenly put salt on the berries instead of sugar. The other couple that was eating with the reviewer called this mistake to her attention. New fruit cups were immediately prepared, but the reviewer declined to accept that offer.

One irony is that the other couple staying with us the same weekend as the reviewer sent us a very flattering email, explicitly stating that they enjoyed themselves and would return in the future.

My wife and I have been in business since 1986. We are the second-oldest continually-operating Bed and Breakfast in Minnesota. During that time I can count on one hand the number of people that have expressed disappointment with our facility or service. I do not doubt the reviewer's sincerity, but sometimes things just don't work out, no matter how hard you try.

Don Salyards
Carriage House B&B
Winona, MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed two nights and enjoyed touring Winona on the bikes provided by the B & B, but were not impressed overall with this B & B. All the rooms are in the "carriage house", not in the actual house. You also eat breakfast in a small porch off the carriage house. The rooms were not as well cleaned as any other B & B I've been to. The rooms are rather eclectic in the way they are decorated (at least ours was, we stayed in the Conrad Bohn room). Worst of all, the walls were exceedingly thin; you could hear everything happening in all the other rooms.

Breakfast was good for continental. The hosts give you a checklist to fill out each day for what you want for breakfast. The choices are: croissant, muffin, or sweet roll; fresh fruit (which was very good); and coffee, tea, hot chocolate, or juice. You also choose one of three times to eat: 7:30, 8:00 or 8:30.

The B&B provides bicycles for use by the guests, that was a fun way to get around town.

I have heard from others who stayed that the hosts are great people and really make the stay more fun. The hosts were out of town for our stay and the substitute hosts didn't do anything other than deliver food and tell us their names. For me, much of the fun of a B & B is learning about the area from the hosts. We didn't get that with the hosts out of town. Even so, if we were to go to Winona again, we would stay somewhere else because of the low quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TreeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Savage, Minnesota
15
Reviewed February 8, 2003

A converted carriage house (4 rooms) located in charming Winona, MN. Our room was clean, with excellent Victorian deco. Had 2 person Jacuzzi and gas fireplace that was happily used during our stay (in February).The owners are very helpful with information and directed us to charming roadhouse for a wonderful dinner across the river in Wisconsin. Also has nice off street parking for vehicles. Price is reasonable and would gladly stay there again if the occasion arises.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winona hotels
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
568 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 420 Main Street, Winona, MN 55987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winona
Price Range: $131 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carriage House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing