We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful break”
other travelers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
View from Rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Exterior
View from Rear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gwithian, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bluedoodi...
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a gruelling 7 hour journey from Portsmouth we arrived to a warm welcome from Jill. The cottage was cute and cosy and everything we needed for a weekend in Cornwall. The surrounding area is beautiful and I loved taking my dog for morning walkies to the beach. It was great value for money. The only issue we had was the DVD player appeared to be broken but we got over it :-)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen K
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Compact place with everything you need”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed a four night break with our two Border Collies. The property was exactly as described with the bonus of a cupboard which had a hanging rail and storage baskets for clothes. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you would require to self cater should you wish to do so. The bed is extremely comfortable and there is also a nice powerful shower. Within easy walking distance of the beach, coastal path and The Red River Inn where the food is excellent and dogs are very welcome. Jill had put the electric fires on in the property prior to our arrival which made it very warm and cosy. We will certainly be returning sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasdnil20...
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy & relaxiing”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived on Monday for a four day break with husband and our dog. The Studio was easy to find, warm & cosy and clean and had everything we needed. Beach was only a short walk away and the area was quiet. Couldn't get a mobile phone signal, but that was a positive for us!
Would definitely stay again, thanks Jill.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timf177
Tewkesbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The good bits:
The owners were welcoming and the location is great, close to the beach and with lovely cliff top walking, all within easy walking distance from the studio. It is also well fitted out with a usable kitchen, nice bathroom with a powerful shower, and a good sitting / bedroom with a comfy sofa, TV and DVD player. So all you need really as a base for a short holiday. The studio was also clean and tidy, with heating provided through two oil filled radiators which did the job adequately.

Not so good bits (from my point of view):
I could not get any mobile phone reception (3 Network) and there was no Wi-Fi provided, so if you need to be online or in contact with anyone, you might find this a problem. Whilst the linen was clean, the provided bath towels had a really strong stale smoke smell which wasn't very pleasant. Parking is also a bit tricky, being up a small track and without easy turning access (especially if there are two cars).
Overall though, for the price charged it was good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to the beach and nice walking
Liked least: No WiFi or phone reception
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W
Skegness
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquil get away!”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

An ideal location for exploring St Ives Bay, Godrevy lighthouse area and the coast to the north, but not far from anywhere really! Gwithian beach was beautiful with superb views across the bay to St Ives. The beach is good for bodyboarding, swimming and surfing, as well as for exploring.
Jill met us on arrival with the warmth of greeting old friends. Her directions to the studio were superb, taking us to the doorstep. Jill is on hand for help but otherwise left us to ourselves.
The studio has a view of the coast or mainly of the sand dunes which give you a wonderful feeling of the location, which we loved. So much countryside on the doorstop to explore. The studio is accessed by a rutted track of a few hundred metres; for us it all added to the romance of the place, but be aware of this if you have a low profile wheeled car, Parking is outside the door. The studio inside is as the pictures show and description tell, small and compact but well equipped, ideal for two. The few days we were there, the weather was warm but the studio does have mobile electric oil heaters which we used just to take the chill off in the later evening. There was plenty of hot water.
The local pub, the Red River Inn, is within walking distance and the ales, food and warmth of the staff was fantastic. Hayle, itself, is only a short drive away and there are plenty of places to eat as well as a Lidl. St Ives and Carvis Bay are also a short drive away.
Mobile phone use, as we were warned by Jill, can be poor, but we are with Vodaphone and the coverage at the Studio was nil but at the beach we got signals and as we approached Hayle. Maybe in our busy world this could be a bonus but if you are relying of it then... But then there are many, many areas where mobile phone signals are poor or unavailable!
On the whole we loved the Studio, its amenities, its location and tranquility and Owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No mobile phone service at all. We are with Vodaphone. It would have been handy for work.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing