We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplanned dinner stop - what a find!”
Review of Yanwath Gate Inn

Yanwath Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Yanwath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Atmospheric 17th century Lake District country Inn. Near Ullswater & M6 J40, Penrith. Oak beams, romantic inglenooks, cosy fires & candlelight. Sunlit country garden. Cask ales, good food & a great welcome!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the way back from the Lakes to the Dales we came across this historic little gem. The staff were so friendly, the pub old, full of character and welcoming and then we ordered a Sunday roast which was fresh delicious and hit the spot. Recommended and we will be back!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is halfway for me to meet my brother and his wife and hand back (reluctantly) their lovely dog. Luckily we had nice weather and sat out together at the back in the garden. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. To my delight, there was something original and different vegetarian-wise which I really enjoyed (West African peanut stew with apricot rice). After years of the usual boring veggie fare ie risotto, mushroom strogonoff etc) it is always a pleasure to encounter something like this! The chef patron, Lee, had taken time to create something authentic and different for we deprived vegetarians/vegans! The meal was delicious. My family all had lovely Sunday roasts, heartily enjoyed. Lee came out to chat and appreciated the feedback about veggie meals and provided a few titbits for Dexter the Dog.
All in all, a lovely afternoon and we look forward to returning.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surfiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

What a find!!
This place is superb, the staff are friendly and accommodating and the food is delicious
A big thank you to Lee and the team nothing is too much trouble and we wish them every success! Definitely worth a detour, we will be coming back !!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank wizz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

We visited the pub for dinner whilst visiting the Lake District on our mini moon. We picked the pub due to the fact that it was dog friendly and the menu online had so much choice. It certainly didn’t disappoint! The food was amazing, the service really good and the staff were so friendly. It was a shame to see that the pub was so quiet but it did mean that we had the opportunity to meet the chef who made a lot of effort to chat to us and ask our opinion of the food. It is definitely worth a visit and it’s just a shame that we live so far away!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

WOW! Came in for the Sunday lunch and what a great time me and partner had.. We both had beef roast dinner which literally just melted in your mouth. Lucy the waitress was new and lovely, they are lucky to have her! Spoke to the chef and he was lovely too.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank RetreatingHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanwath Gate Inn also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Yanwath Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing