We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice bar, nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Willmar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Willmar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice room, nice bar, nice price says it all.
This is a newly renovated and expanded location -- I was also here in August 2013 when it was torn up. Rooms have all the amenities. The hotel pool is indoor in the center of the building.
The Green Mill restaurant and bar was pretty busy the night I stayed. Food menu is on the upscale and eclectic side -- expect much more than just several kinds of burgers. I had a Thai salad, for example.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We're please to read you are a returning guest and have seen the results of our renovations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Willmar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

Hotel was great but watch yourself at Green Mill. Broke $100 bill for a round of drinks for me and my coworker so I had cash to tip housekeeper. Realized the next day the bartender kept an extra $20 for herself! Don't know if it was intentional but still irritating. Should have counted it out better when she gave me my change. My fault I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you loved the hotel and sure do not want any of our guests to feel that they were short-changed, whether in our restaurant or hotel. We have reached out to you via your email linked to your hotel survey, to make amends, so thank you so much for taking the time to fill out both the hotel survey, as well as this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great place for business or families to stay. Rooms are clean, quiet and have nice amenaties. Staff were very friendly at all times. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. The proce was very affordable. The pool area was very nice with a hot tub. Thr Green Mill resturant was attached and very handy. Great food and service.I highly recommend others to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and our facilities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Overall, we had a very positive experience. The hotel was easy to find but a good distance from the busy highway, We had a king-sized room, which was good-sized. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a nice desk area for a computer and the HD TV got a lot of channels. There was a thermostat on the wall, so we were able to keep the room at a nice temperature. The breakfast was very good with several hot items to choose from. While we didn't use it, the pool area looked very nice and pool towels were provided in the room. The only negative was the amount of noise. There was a lot of hall noise, although most of that came from a wedding party. Also, we could hear music from the conference center which was 10 feet from our window. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. We stayed here while moving our son to Willmar, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are sorry to hear that hall noise was a bit of an issue, although we're glad it didn't last long. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I found the Best Western Plus of Willmar on one of those sites that promises to locate a best-price room for you. I was pleasantly surprised, the place was modern, clean, and inviting. The room, although a little small, had a huge bathroom, a king bed, microwave and fridge, and a thermostat on the wall! My only complaint is that they don't maintain the parking lot as well as they do the building. There was a lot of trash in the lot, as well as sand and gravel from nearby construction.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and feedback! We are pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel, and we are also embarrassed that you noticed our messy parking lot. Unfortunately, since we had so much landscaping and sod being installed, the contractor had not swept the lot yet as the irrigation company was making a mess with their work.
The good news is that the landscaping and sod are installed, and 2/3rds of our parking lot has been repaved and striped with the final front portion to be completed next week (weather permitting)! We hope you will be back soon to see the difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great hotel with a convenient location to highways and major roads. As guests of a wedding, we found the banquet hall to be very nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were so happy they allowed our dog to stay as well :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding reception at our facility, and felt that we took good care of you (as well as your dog)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staff is excellent! Always there for you when you need them. I stay here at least 5 days a month as my grand kids and my daughter and her husband live in Willmar. The Green Mill restaurant is absolutely the best place I gave ever dined while hotel travel stays.

Room Tip: You will always get a good room here😊
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chloegirl144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and your kind words! We're so glad you continue to stay with us and fully enjoy the Green Mill Restaurant and Bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willmar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#3 of 8 in Willmar
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Spicer Green Lake
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Willmar
Super 8 Willmar
#7 of 8 in Willmar
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Cozy Inn
#5 of 8 in Willmar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Willmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Willmar

Address: 2100 Highway 12 E, Willmar, MN 56201-5863 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Willmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Willmar
Price Range: $133 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Willmar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the right hotel is paramount, whether traveling for business or leisure, and this Willmar hotel has everything guests need for a great getaway.Whether travelers are heading to an event at MinnWest Technology Campus, such as a lecture or graduation, or here for a meeting with Jennie-O Foods, location is important. Guests at this Willmar hotel are a short drive from many attractions such as the Sibley State Park.Attached to the Willmar Conference Center, business travelers can simply walk to the meetings, events or tradeshows that are hosted here. However, rest and relaxation is also steps away. As the only full-service hotel in Willmar, our friendly staff is dedicated to making your stay the best it can be. Rejuvenate at the pool, or enjoy the peace and quiet of a spacious, brand new guest room.The nearby Glacial Trails, for bikes and snowmobiles, attract adventure seekers from around the country. Winter sports are beloved in this region, and the Willmar Civic Center Arena Ice and Curling Rink is a great way to kickstart any vacation. From the Sonshine Festival to the endless outdoor rec options, there’s no shortage of excitement close to this Willmar hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Willmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Willmar Hotel Willmar
Willmar Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing