We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel For Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Willmar

Days Inn Willmar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Willmar
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Willmar
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel For Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stay here every time I come to town. My company books all our rooms through CLC (Corporate Lodging), and this hotel has always been great about honoring any requests we have. Room has everything you need, ok beds, fridge/microwave, and cable tv (HBO too). Room is clean, no random hairs or leftover linens that I have had at other Days Inns. There is no elevator, which is fine, I can carry a suitcase. If you need an elevator for one flight of stairs, stay on the first floor or don't pack so much. Bathrooms are a little small, but again, its not a vacation home, and the price reflects that. Some rooms also have a whirlpool tub but I have never used it. Staff is always willing to help with any concerns. If you work nightshift, they will try to put you in a more vacant part of the hotel to help you sleep! Big plus!

Parking is kind of a pain, but that comes with the good location. It is right off the "highway" and easy to find/get around. Even though it is off a highway, I have NEVER heard any highway noise in my room. Curtains also keep the room fairly dark too, again, this matters to me.

One thing that really sets a hotel apart for me is the breakfast, and this hotel fails miserably at it! Unless you like 4 cereals, bagels, toast, or donuts, your out of luck! Lately I have been seeing many hotels put a crock pot with a hot breakfast (eggs/sausage or biscuts & gravy). There are always people eating breakfast there so it would not go to waste. I think this is something you guys should seriously consider.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briguy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We sure appreciate your positive feedback! We will take a look at our breakfast items and see if we can squeeze in some other items as you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
39
24
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had trouble finding a place to stay in Willmar, often go to Holiday Inn or Americinn chains but this was the only one with rooms. It was a little discouraging to come in tired at 10:30 PM and find you need to go park far out back, in the farthest corner of the lot due to pickups and boats taking 4 parking spots each - then haul the luggage up to 2nd floor - no elevator. I must have missed that in selecting a hotel. The room was okay. The beds were pretty firm. You can just tell it's an old building in need of some updates, like the towel hanger that comes out of the wall part way when you grab a towel. The AC keeps the room as COLD as you want, but the humidity level is very high.....our clothes in the morning, as well as the sheets, felt clammy. My one pill was stuck in the pill minder......with the lid snapped shut? The hall did smell smokey, but thankfully our non-smoking room did not. The room was reasonably clean - only stayed one night and did not check out the breakfast area. It did really seem small in the check-in/breakfast area though. I imagine it cannot hold many people at any one time. For the price, it was about what we expected.....just surprised it's even legal anymore to have no elevator.

Room Tip: Request first floor on reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLTCLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, which appears to have been over a very busy and hot time period!
We are so sorry that our agent did not offer to assist you with your luggage. It's unfortunate that there isn't a hotel in town with an elevator, but we will definitely follow up with our team to ensure we are offering our assistance to all guests.
We apologize for the lengthy hot (and humid) stretch of weather we've been having, our air conditioners have been running non-stop trying to keep up!
Again, we appreciate the feedback, and are sorry that we fell short of being 4 or more stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was my third stay at this property. I had brought a total of 9 room nights to them over the past 3 months, so I thought they were pretty good to their guests.

This was my first multi-night stay here. The second day, they didn't clean the room at all.

That night when I got in, I found that the trash was still in the room, the bed was unmade, and the wet towels were still on the floor. I complained, and the clerk say that on the second night's stay, the maid "should have at least removed the trash and the towels." She apologized, but I was shocked to hear that their normal practice is NOT to make the bed or straighten up / vacuum the room.

I judge a hotel by the way they treat you on multi-night stays. This hotel apparently believes that once they have your money, there is no need to give you proper service. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randolph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are so sorry that housekeeping missed your room and that our staff justified our mistake in any manner. It is NOT protocol to skip housekeeping services on any guest room, unless the guest leaves their Do Not Disturb sign out.
Our agent should not have excused the lack of service, rather, she should have offered to make it right and have it cleaned for you.
Thank you for sharing your feedback, it has made a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willmar hotels

Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
149 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My brother and I stayed here for a few days while on business in Willmar. The hotel is out dated and could use quite a few updates, however, the rooms are clean and the service is above par. The breakfast could also use some added variety and presentation improvement. It suited our needs and we would stay here again for a business trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlickNEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to read that you found our service and cleanliness was above par! Your comments regarding breakfast and room updates are helpful and we will use your feedback to improve. Thank you for staying and sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just returned from a 11-day stay at Days Inn. We found the staff very accommodating, friendly and helpful. It was a simple room -- but included refrigerator and microwave. No iron or laundry facilities which would have been helpful for our lengthy stay. And as others have noted, there is no elevator for second floor which makes it somewhat cumbersome with heavy bags. There is also no pool or exercise equipment, however our 23-year-old son enjoyed the whirlpool tub. The hallway sometimes smelled smoky, but our non-smoking room did not. I would recommend this hotel as a simple, clean, hotel room. Nothing fancy, but friendly staff. Nearby Green Mill Restaurant and Deidra's coffee shop are very nice, and there is also a coin-operated laundromat nearby.

Room Tip: Consider first floor if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback! We strive to provide exceptional service and clean rooms at a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a very good motel for the money. The staff is very friendly and it's very clean as well as a convenient location. The breakfast is good, nothing out of the ordinary though. It's atleast better than a few doughnuts like a lot of motels have. The rooms are clean and comfortable but not extremely quite as you can hear a lot of hallway noise. The staff is exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! Our staff was thrilled to read their efforts are noticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The check in was friendly and efficient( we had not been able to get into our first choice of hotel but they had been kind enough to ring this place for us and reserve a room) The room was fine 2 queen beds, table and chair, fridge and microwave, nice and clean. A real bonus was a gas BBQ complete with tools outside and a picnic table. I went to get some ice and the receptionist asked if the room was okay and had a chat.

Breakfast was fine, a little short in the cereal choice, but juice, coffee, muffins, toast, bagels and cakes. Check out different girl on duty but just as friendly. Price was $75.00 around average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfeist, General Manager at Days Inn Willmar, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we were please to hear the BBQ grill was a hit! Many of our guests enjoy grilling out in the back, especially with the wonderful weather we've been having."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willmar
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#4 of 8 in Willmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
21.9 mi away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Litchfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Willmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Willmar

Property: Days Inn Willmar
Address: 225 28th Street Southeast, Hwy 12 E, Willmar, MN 56201-3800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Willmar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Willmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Willmar 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Willmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willmar Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing