We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooops. Wrong info given to us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Willmar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We decided to take the grandkids to an indoor pool on a very cold winters day. We called the local pools, then saw this property had a water slide in their pool. We called for information because we were going to drive a far distance if we picked this place. We were told that the slide opened at 3:00pm and the cost would be $10 each. I advised the gal that we'd be there before 3, and did we have to wait to go into the pool. She said No and that we'd just be charged $7 if we arrived before 3:00pm. We arrived at 2:20pm and were charged $10 each. When I questioned the gal at the counter, she said the rates are $10 beginning at 3:00pm. I asked her for the time. She said "2:20, but because it's close to 3:00pm, we'll need to charge you $10 each." I understand the higher cost when you're able to use the slide, but we swam for 40 minutes w/o any slide. Certainly worth it to us to do, but now that we paid the waterslide fee, we wanted to be able to use it immediately. They need to stick with the time rules they've created. Does the increased cost start at 3:00 or 2:20? Does it depend on who is at the desk collecting the money?
We were glad to see the pool was clean, the tables and chairs were set up nicely with towels and the staff was friendly.
The bathroom was in rough shape, with wet paper towels on the floor around the stool, as if there was a leak. And since all the users were from the pool, and barefoot, that's a concern.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We do apologize for the frustration of incorrect information, you experienced while arriving at the hotel to enjoy open swimming with your grandchildren. We hope they had a great time using the pool, water basketball and whirlpool prior to the 3pm water slide opening. We strive to ensure all our guests have a great experience and will reevaluate our current policies and pricing for open swimming. We look forward to having you come again with your grandchildren to enjoy the pool area and facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on a work trip. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly and welcoming. There is a nice coffee/tea bar in the front with light snacks at all times of day. The breakfast is a continental buffet with a good variety of hot/cold (hot being waffles/hot oatmeal).

The rooms are nice and comfortable - but pretty standard for this class of hotel. There was a flat screen tv with a good variety of channels.

The pool area seem larger than most hotels, with a slide that is probably extra fun for kids. I used the exercise room in the morning - it's small, but there are two treadmills, an elliptical machine and a weight machine. It was good enough for me to get a cardio workout in.

I would definitely consider staying here again. I didn't give this hotel 5 stars because of any deficiency, but rather because I reserve 5 stars for hotels/resorts that go above and beyond (try a chalet in Switzerland). However, for this class of hotel, it's definitely a 5 star.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is right by the freeway (which is convenient), I didn't notice any noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments and feedback. The hot continential breakfast and weekend water slide are great amenities that many of our guests enjoy. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was exactly what we were looking for. One last hurrah before school started! The water slide and pool were what drew us to this hotel. Customer Service was excellent and the hot breakfast was seriously good!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We are glad to know that the staff was able to provide excellent customer service during your stay and the hot breakfast exceeded your expectations. There really is something for everyone on the continental breakfast. Thank you for the positive comments and taking the time to share your positive experience. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Picked this over the Holiday Inn in Willmar, our last stay at the Holiday Inn was bad. The staff made us feel welcomed and tried to help out in any way possible. We were staying due to a funeral and even the housekeeping staff went out of there way to show their concern. Our 5 grandchildren were with us. The staff even turned on the water slide for 10 minutes one night for them to enjoy even if it's only suppose to be on the weekend. Now how many times can 5 youngsters and 3 adults go down a slide. Enough times to really enjoy it.
The breakfast area was clean and food plentiful. Not the cheapest hotel around, but it is really the best for Willmar area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the water slide with your grandchildren and that the staff was welcoming during your stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family returned to central Minnesota for the 4th of July weekend to visit friends and family. The hotel had made special arrangements to have the waterslide open extended hours during the holiday weekend. Great idea! Thanks! Excellent break from the hot humid outside temps.

This hotel is a little more expensive than others in the area, but worth every penny. We have stayed at this particular hotel several times over the past 3 years with great success. The staff are friendly and attentive. The hotel is quiet, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Standard hot breakfast with a few extras. :) Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsonsinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to know you keep coming back year after year, for the July 4th holiday. We look forward to your return again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I find it difficult to give a 5* rating to a cookie-cutter motel, but this one was very welcoming and clean. It met all our needs and wants. (The water slide is only open on weekends, so we missed out on that--looked fun.) It was also within walking distance of lots of restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captcalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. It is wonderful to know you were provided with a clean facility and welcoming staff. We will continue to strive to provide those services to all of our guests. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family has stayed here three times now, whenever we go to a family reunion, and have always been very happy. You get what you expect nowadays; a clean, comfortable room with all the amenities, wireless, fridge and microwave, etc... Also a free laundry room and fun pool with a waterslide, which is only open on weekends, and a hot tub open to adults until midnight every night. The staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help me. The breakfast is very good when you compare it to other hotels of this sort. A very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1225698, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We appreciate the 5 star rating! Thank you for your response and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willmar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Willmar
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Spicer Green Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#3 of 8 in Willmar
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Willmar
Super 8 Willmar
#7 of 8 in Willmar
114 reviews
11.9 mi away
Spicer Castle Inn
Spicer Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Spicer
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar

Address: 201 28th Ave SE, Willmar, MN 56201-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Willmar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Willmar
Price Range: $115 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rooms in Willmar, MN with Free Internet Comfort is not just a word at Country Inn & Suites Willmar hotel - it's a way of life. We strive daily to make your stay as comfortable and productive as possible. All of our spacious, well-appointed rooms come complete with free high-speed Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, and coffee makers. The Country Inn & Suites Willmar hotel is happy to provide a hot complimentary, expanded breakfast bar to help you start your day off right. Guests enjoy free breakfast including hot and cold cereals, yogurt, bagels, assorted breads, waffles, hot eggs, meat and potato and many beverages. The Country Inn & Suites is also close to numerous restaurants, including Applebee's, Green Mill, Grizzly's and Perkins.While staying at our Willmar, Minnesota hotel near Ridgewater College, you will be conveniently close to the quickly growing South Willmar retail and entertainment district. Premium shopping, golfing, fishing, theatre and other attractions are all just a few minutes away from our ideally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Willmar
Willmar Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing