We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Ice Fish”
Review of Zippel Bay Resort

Zippel Bay Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zippel Bay Resort
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have ice fished a couple times at Zippel Bay and have enjoyed the resort, the staff and the accommodations each time. The roads are always well plowed and more importantly well marked. The addition to the Igloo on ice Bar is a great place to end the day at or spend the in. You can eat, drink and fish at the bar, what else could you need.
This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3825john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at Zippel Bay several years ago with my father during deer season. We were both new to deer hunting and had never shot a deer. It was the third and final weekend of the season and we decided to head up to Zippel Bay for our last chance to bag a deer (we made this decision based on all the deer we saw on a walleye fishing trip the previous summer). We knew we weren't going to arrive until at least midnight but the staff was nice enough to not only wait for us but to hand draw us a map of the public hunting land in the area and ride with us to show us the nearest public hunting areas. The next morning I shot my first deer! I will never forget the kindness of the Zippel Bay staff for helping me shoot my first deer. The resort is an excellent bargain and exactly what I would expect for a north woods experience. I strongly recommend staying here. You won't regret it. Excellent hunting and fishing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehoeffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

After an exhausting 14 hour journey to our destination, after planning for weeks for this excursion, we arrived at Zippel Bay Resort very enthusiastic. The front desk did not share our enthusiastic and uttered only 'cabin 8', This may have been overly stated, because it was a shed with an air-conditioner hanging out of the side, bunk beds, a musty futon, and a fly infestation that even a horror movie could not fathom. Thinking perhaps a mistake had been made, we returned to the front desk, only to have it explained that it was our mistake, because we asked for a two bed room, and that is what we received. Hmm. Obviously a language barrier must exist between Ohio and Minnesota because we had stated repeatedly that we need a two BEDROOM cabin. Now, we are brothers, and having had bunk beds 45 years ago, we can share a room, so we accepted this error, not feeling that we had any choice in the matter. (note, after 45 years we realized that neither of us could leap into the upper bunk without a ladder or assistant of some kind, therefore one of us were sentenced to the futon, and a night full of sinus problems and walking like Quasimodo the entire next day.) We had been told numerous times by Mrs Owner that we can fish off the dock too and no need to bring any tackle -- THAT IS BECAUSE THEY ARE GOING TO SELL IT TO YOU AT TRIPLE THE PRICE OF ANY HIGH END SPORTING GOODS STORE! We had the tackle, we had the ability to bring it with us, but we were insured, again by Mrs. Owner, that they have plenty of equipment. When we brought up that fact, we were told by Mr. Owner that 'you can't catch fish off the dock" in a tone of ridiculousness and a blast of burped bourbon. So apparently there was another communication error, After they began to sense the fact that we were not leaving, they motioned to some rods that were probably left by some other poor sole that had tried to vacation here but had abandoned them as he ran away screaming. The line was worth one cast and the lures we were forced to buy we put into the suitcase. We were told we could rent a boat for more fishing, but we had to pay a guide and there is no equipment unless we buy it. So basically we could pay for a boat ride if we were so inclined We were not. The charter did allow us some fishing as the subcontracted service was well equipped, but the fishing itself was lackluster and after having to pay for the Resort to prepare it, and then give away the rest because there was no way to get it home (note, they told us they would package it for shipping, as it turned out this was also a communication error, they put it in a baggy and we could figure the rest out.) There was not a decent meal, and between the misdirecting statements from Mrs. Owner and the bullying obnoxious behavior of Mr. Owner, we told them we were leaving early and we were not paying for services and a room that we were no longer going to use. It was plainly stated that 'we would not get out of the county before the sheriff would have us' This threat was taken seriously, and insured that we will never enter this area again. We lost a great deal of money on the trip and were treated as if we bothering them with any questions. They did service the customer, if the service you want is to have your wallet reamed and you spirit crushed. This was nothing less than horrible and if this represented the state of Minnesota, then run as far as you can! In fact 14 hours from there and fish in Lake Erie, where they want your business! --- Daniel Stanley

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Zippel Bay offers the best plowed roads of all available.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zippel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zippel Bay Resort

Address: 6080 39th St. NW, Williams, MN 56686-4454
Location: United States > Minnesota > Williams
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Williams
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Zippel Bay Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing