We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and easy!”
Review of Don Julio's

Don Julio's
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Forest Lake, MN
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Quick and easy!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A very nice addition to the WBL area. Like their other locations, the service is the same. Friendly and fast. Order a drink, order, meal is served, check is dropped off and you're out the door in 20 minutes. Food is OK, nothing too special, but like I said if you want a decent priced meal that is quick and served with a smile, this is your place! Reminds us of older Mexico.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MerlynDalamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dellwood, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor management”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am shocked to see how many people said the service was good - we had a terrible experience. Although fast, our waiter spoke minimal English, which was the root of the problem. He brought me a root beer instead of a diet coke, and then took 15 minutes to bring the correct drink. He brought extra cheese sauce for a dish that came with cheese sauce and charged us $2.50 for it. When we asked to see the assistant manager to say we didn't feel we should have to pay for the sauce, his response was "Well, if you didn't bother to read the menu, there is nothing I can do to help you." The manager was arrogant, rude, and incredibly disrespectful. Based on how terribly we were treated and the medicare quality of the food, we will never go here again, even though we only live blocks away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafer, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wanted a Fiesta!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The service was awesome! Our server was attentive and nice... The margaritas were not Fiesta, more like siesta.... Both my friend and I could not even taste any alcohol in the drinks...and for what they cost, I will definitely never have another! My taquitos were good, and my friend loves their retried beans. Overall, it was average and was hoping for better! Ole'

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Typical generic Mexican food, but excellent service!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a fantastic place to go with kids and the service is friendly and fast! They have good chips and salsa and Margaritas. It isn't the best Mexican food I have ever had (everything is some variation of cheese, beans and meat in a different format), but it's definitely edible.

It is always very reasonably priced and you won't leave feeling like you broke the bank.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aquabluemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not good.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My barometer for good Mexican food are the nachos, which were disappointing. With several new restaurants recently opening in WBL, I suspect this establishment will draw customers that read the menu from right to left rather than 'foodies'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishforsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Julio's also viewed

White Bear Lake, MN
White Bear Lake, MN
 
White Bear Lake, MN
White Bear Lake, MN
 
White Bear Lake, MN
White Bear Lake, MN
 

Been to Don Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing