We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food when they have it, awesome desserts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Arnaud - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Arnaud
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food when they have it, awesome desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I love going to the bakery for their sandwiches their Brie jambon is amazing, however lately it's been MIA due to running short on supplies of jambon. The last time this happened it was due to them being short handed and the person in charge was focusing on their new location, I was assured that the issue was temporary... Lets just say I call now if I'm going for sandwiches. The dessert and breads are amazing and so far if you are wondering what to get...order anything and it's hard to go wrong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billigj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yum and then some!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food is spectacular. The counter people had a little trouble keeping up with our group of six as we shouted out orders, out of order, and the food came out some time apart, but it was worth the wait. Delish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A taste of Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am so glad that the patisserie craze is finally hitting Minnesota. I have been missing french pastry since leaving Paris almost three years ago. Their treatment of baked goods, which is lightly sweetened, puffy and flaky far exceeds the overly sweetened, lard-laden version of pastry we have grown up with in the United States.
Chez Arnaud does a great job. While I don't think it is quite as good as Patisserie 46 in South Minneapolis, the difference in taste is not substantial and the proximity of Chez Arnaud makes it a winner. They offer a wide variety of baked goods from croissant, baguettes, breads, macaroons, tartes, eclairs and other goodies. They also have great coffee. Chez Arnaud has a comfortable little seating area for having coffee and pastry with friends. You can pick up a nice assortment of treats for brunch at a friends. I am truly grateful to have an outstanding european bakery so close to home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the nuns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I crave the nuns, not too sweet..just perfect. This is a a place where you can fulfill your sweet tooth. A little pricey but well worth it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad salmon, ok macaroons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I had a salmon sandwich that had an herb butter, cucumber and some other unmemorable items. There was way too much bread and there for the sandwich was very dry. I also felt that the cucumber was on the verge of spoiling but they used it anyway. I will not go back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnboxermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Arnaud also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing