We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Food and Service”

Acqua Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Acqua Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 61 and Highway 96
Description: Acqua is comfortably located on the Western shore of White Bear Lake and offers seating in four relaxed dining rooms, two sheltered decks overlooking the marina, a spacious lakeside patio and cozy bar. The menu is Italian driven and Acqua Restaurant always strives to source out the highest quality local ingredients. The restaurant focuses on maintaining a warm, clean and comfortable atmosphere while offering knowledgeable and attentive service that cares.
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
290 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Fab Food and Service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We checked out TripAdvisor for restaurant recommendations during our stay in White Bear Lake. The ratings were definitely on the mark. We didn't have reservations but chose to eat at the bar. Service (bartender and Nicole) were excellent. Although our meal was a little late arriving, they kept us posted about the delay. I had the Chilean see bass which was excellent. We were given complimentary desserts because of the delay--- not necessary but definitely appreciated and delicious! We are staying in the area for a few more days and will definitely try to make it back before we depart. I highly recommend! If I lived here, this could easily become our favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Waterfront Delight”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely spot, fabulous food! We sat outside-which kinda felt like we were sitting in the parking lot as they're working on the road in front of the restaurant. Once the road is done and the building/garage that are being built next door to the restaurant are finished, dining outside will be much more pleasent. However, the food was wonderful!! I had scallops, husband had duck-both excellent! If you're looking for a place to just have dessert, have the caramel with sea salt custard-like dish!! It's great!! Definitely a return-to spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of holidays!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant offered a romantic atmosphere, great food, super service and an amazing view! The menu was not restricted to regular items and after travelling for a week we appreciated the opportunity to choose something to different. The lobster tail was HUGE, and well prepared. We were very pleasantly surprised by this restaurant! Highly recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Constance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Truly Delicious!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The four of us were very pleased with what we ordered: Pork Shank served with mashed sweet potatoes, sea bass encrusted with crab in a chile buerre blanc sauce, salad of apples, fennel and parmesan, and so on. The bread (and butter!) was warm and delicious; and the house-made cocktails (elderflower martini - yum!!) and wine list carried excellent options. We were ONLY disappointed with the desserts - they were entirely "dairy" - not good for a lactose intolerant diner. Sorbet could have been an option but it was a cold night and, anyway, who wants sorbet and ice cream when there could be better options. So dessert here... not worth the calories. Otherwise, though, we will definitely come here again, and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at Acqua, it was our first time there. The staff is amazing at this place. We started with a great cocktail and the Mussels and Cream sauce. All I can say is amazing. Best ever. Served with a great baguette . My husband had ordered the Lamb and I had the Crab legs. He did not care for the Lamb and my Crab legs were cold. Our waiter "Tom" was fabulous. Replaced my husbands meal with the Sea bass... awesome and I was sent out an entire new plate of steaming hot "huge" crab legs. It was excellent.
For the inconvenience he picked up our cocktail bill and sent us off with two free deserts. We will soon be regulars at Acqua! Thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joaniej57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acqua Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
White Bear Lake, MN
White Bear Lake, MN
 

Been to Acqua Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing