We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No swimming/No sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Bear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
White Bear Lake, United States
1 review
“No swimming/No sleep”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pool was closed and staff didn't know if or when it would re-open. We booked a poolside room and there was a wedding reception right next to us. The noise was so loud it shook items in the room. people lingered outside our room until after 2am when hotel staff assured us that wedding guests were required to go to the bar after the reception. Hotel was booked and there was no attempt to accommodate us or our small children (8 months and 5 yrs).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFoussard, Owner at Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have reviewed your concerns with our staff and found that the pool was closed for a few hours due to an accident in the pool by a child. Being that health and safety are number one we followed all requirements set by State regulations to assure that all guests would be safe to reenter. Unfortunately we have no control over issues as this and fortunately it is a very rare occurrence. We do apologize for this inconvenience. I spoke with our Front Desk Manager as well and he has indicated that he spoke with your personally and explained the situation as well as offered a complimentary overnight stay. We truly care about our guests and want to provide the highest quality in customer care. When ever you are here again please call me directly and I will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.

Sincerely
Bill Foussard
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    96
    27
    14
    21
See reviews for
160
87
22
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room had a nice décor generally. The pillows were all (and there was at least 8!) hard, puffy types that make my neck ache in the morning. The biggest issue - the A/C sounded like a truck when it turned on and it cycled often. Whether set to 78 or 60, it poorly regulated the room temp and kept me up all night. If I turned it off the room got too hot. When I reported the situation to the staff I received the standard " we'll have maintenance look at it" reply. The restaurant is great. The hotel is managed for looks not guest comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The web site makes this look like a really special property. However, the reality doesn't live up to the virtual. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Others didn't seem to know what was going on...or even care.

We had a "king" room, but only the bed was king-size. The room was tiny and crowded. Like so many hotels these days, this one thought it would be impressive to pile the bed with unneeded linens and pillows. They filled half the room when they were removed so we could go to bed.

The hallways seemed narrow, especially when filled with so many carts and staff standing around talking. It was a challenge getting to our room. At night the hallways were LOUD with guests running and yelling until after 2 am.

The free breakfast was mediocre. Orange juice ran out. Scrambled eggs were cold and dry. The pancake maker didn't work right. Lunch at the restaurant seemed overpriced for the quality of food that was served. At least the server was attentive and pleasant.

I've never been so glad to check out of a hotel as I was this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvrlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFoussard, Owner at Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am so sorry to hear your concerns in regards to your stay. I have discussed your comments with our General Manager with regards to your comments of the staff and how we can assure that all are providing the highest quality of customer service. I apologize for any noise issues in the future please call the front desk immediately and they will take care of any disturbance. As far as the pillows and linens it is a brand requirement we must comply with. Please call me directly at 651-429-5393 ext 403 and I will do everything possible to make you happy. I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience as this is how we continue to grow and improve.

Regards,
Bill Foussard
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have a neurotic Chihuahua and specifically asked for a room away from the commotion. So what do they give us? A room next to the pool, complete with kids squealing and doing cannon balls for hours on end, just feet from the window. We had to leave for a few hours, not only to calm down the dog, but also ourselves. Needless to say, we did not use the pool or hot tub. $135 for a lousy experience. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFoussard, Owner at Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Joan S
I am so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet our high quality standards. I am the owner Bill Foussard please call me directly at 651-429-5393 so that we can discuss your stay and concerns in greater detail. I promise you that I take all comments to heart and will do everything possible to make our guests happy. We strive to offer the utmost in customer service and to make each and every guests stay enjoyable. Again we apologize and I look forward to your call.

Sincerely
Bill Foussard
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed here at least 6 times and have always had a great experience. The last two times we have forgotten items in our room when we checked out. The first time they mailed a bulky item to us. The last time my wife left her rings in the room. When we returned, the manager (Nick) and housekeeper (Bridget) went out of their way to find the rings and get them to us. We also recommend the in-house restaurant, Rudy's Redeye Grill - dinner and drinks are always excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while my husband attended a training about six blocks away; the location was close to his training site, but it was quite a trek to any of the kid-friendly Twin Cities activities that we scheduled (Children's Museum, Mall of America, MN Zoo, etc). For that reason,w e probably won't stay here again unless we have business in this part of the metro area; it's also a couple of miles to the interstate, so there's not really the easy-on, easy-off appeal of many other regional hotels.

The pool area looks nice, even if you do feel a little exposed while using it -- all rooms overlook the area, and breakfast seating surrounds it, plus the acoustics are just terrible. Sound travels! And the area was busy every night, making it impossible for us to put our toddler to sleep before 10 pm on any of the three nights we were there. Also, there are no windows to the outside world, which takes a little getting used to!

Breakfast was OK; there was a very sour woman working the breakfast are on our first day, stomping around and generally acting put-upon. The tables were sticky. On days 2 and 3, different, much friendlier women were working, and everything was clean and orderly. The variety isn't great. But there are fridges in the rooms and a microwave in the breakfast area, so you can supplement with your own food if you'd like.

The staff was great about letting us stay in the same room for 3 nights, even though we'd booked a different room for the 3rd night (personal use, not business). But they could have given us more warning about the parking lot resurfacing taking place while we were there... we returned from a long day of travel to find most of the spaces blocked off, with no indication of where we could park instead. This could have been handled better.

All in all, it wasn't a terrible visit. Plenty of pillows, towels, blankets on the bed. A decent amount of space for your suitcases, and there is a nice-looking rooftop restaurant that was busy every night. McDonalds right next door. Nearby Walgreens and downtown shopping area.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool area, which is open until 10 pm for kids and 11 pm for adults. We had a...
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual disposable breakfast set up. Nothing exceptional about their environmental practices.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFoussard, Owner at Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know your concerns. We do have many rooms that do not over look the pool area and that have windows that do open to the outside, please next time let our front desk staff know your preference and they will do everything possible to make sure you have a room that you like. I have discussed your other issues with our staff and have reiterated that our goal is to offer the highest quality of customer service at all times. Again thank you for taking the time to submit your review as this is our greatest tool to continue to improve and meet our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was a very clean and nice hotel. The on-site restaurant was very good. Continental breakfast had the usual rolls and waffles, plus scrambled eggs and bacon. The only thing that could use improvement is that the front desk doesn't seem to have very good communication with the shuttle drivers, but that was minor. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myzrx1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Bear Lake
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Chisago City
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heights
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heig...
#3 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
76 reviews
13.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn

Property: Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
Address: 4940 Highway 61 N, White Bear Lake, MN 55110-2658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > White Bear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between nature and city life is this unique hotel possessing White Bear Lake hometown hospitality and first class accommodations. Stylish and spaciously designed guest rooms offer amenities for work and play like free high-speed Internet access, 37-inch television with cable, microwave, refrigerator and much more. Wake up to a full complimentary hot breakfast every morning poolside. Take advantage of our indoor heated saltwater pool, hot tub, and fitness center, or unwind with a signature drink and appetizers at our award winning onsite restaurant, Rudy’s Redeye Grill, and in the warmer months April-Oct the award winning best patio Rudy's Rooftop Bar & Grill. Rudy’s Redeye Grill creates a one-of-a-kind dining experience by combing award-winning food with great ambiance. At Rudy’s, get American classics like the Redeye Sirloin, as well as signature dishes like the Drunk’n Dirty Pork Chops and our famous Bull Bites. Don’t forget to try our signature cocktails, including the famous Rudytini. Enjoy the summer months on Rudy’s Rooftop. Relax by the outdoor fireplace while sipping one of our specialty drinks from the Rooftop bar. Rudy’s Rooftop has been a favorite destination since opening in 2011. From quaint downtown shopping, to nearby boating and golfing enjoy all White Bear Lake has to offer while you’re here. Visit other local favorites such as Tally’s Dockside, Cup and Cone, or the Pine Tree Apple Orchard. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won't want your first stay at the Best Western PLUS White Bear Country Inn, to be your last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Hotel White Bear Lake
Best Western White Bear Lake
Country Inn White Bear Lake
White Bear Lake Country Inn
White Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing