We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously the best donuts I have ever eaten!”
Review of Grannys Donuts

Grannys Donuts
Restaurant details
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Seriously the best donuts I have ever eaten!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Driving down the road I saw this place and decided to drop in. I have had hit or miss experiences with mom n pop donut shops, but this was the best I have ever been to. The owner, who seems to get mixed reviews from others, was friendly, funny, and welcoming. I ordered two donuts and a coffee, he suggested I try a third (Devil's food) and I agreed. He explained that he made the chocolate himself and was very proud of it. He told me to take a bit and if I didn't like it I wouldn't pay for it. Well, it was hands down the lightest, most flavorful bite of chocolate I have ever bit into. I told him as much and he then put a chocolate covered twist in the bag at no charge.

As I sat down to eat my snack, a few other customers came and went. When they left, the owner came out through the kitchen door and started talking to me. We had a pleasant conversation about their history and his day (the guys gets in around 3am to start making the donuts from scratch).

I had a very good time there and will definitely go back next time I am in Minneapolis. As for the donuts, they are super light and fluffy little bites of heaven. Even if the owner had been having a bad day I would have given them 5 stars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    2
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“AWESOME DONUTS! Go early!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Yes, go early. I have been there some mornings and by 9AM there is slim to pick from. It is not because they don't make enough, it is because it all gets sold because they are so busy! I love the family that owns this place. Super friendly mom and pop type place and they are always giving free donut holes to kids and 'giving you a deal' on buying one more donut. Great place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommyto4blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, bad, ugly”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Good: Fresh baked donuts. Donuts are absolutely the best when fresh, and Grannys donuts are baked that morning.

The Bad: When the owner tries to give you a "good deal" when buying a dozen donuts. DO NOT SAY YES. I can't tell you how many times I fell for this. He will say something about giving you a deal, he then picks a couple more donuts. Here is the kicker, he is not tossing them in for free. in fact, he has always charged me FULL PRICE for the other two. Not even a discount. I finally started doing the math and stopped saying yes....

The Ugly: Usually the service is just fine. However, it can be really bad too. One time my wife asked for a white filled doughnut. The old man freaked out and went on about how they have never carried white filled in X number of years of business. He then asked the next customer in line what they wanted, without asking us if we wanted to choose something else. Also, if you take more than 2 seconds to decide what donut you want, he will become agitated. This has happened to me when filling an order for my whole family, a church group , or work.

Overall, this place is overrated. I think that Grannys benefits from being the only place that consistently sells freshly baked donuts on Robert Street.

I will stop by every once in a while. However, after the incident noted above, I go elsewhere for my trips more than 1 or 2 donuts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank captkirk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best donuts around!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great donuts! One of the places my kids love to go on the weekends. A nice variety of donuts - especially the classic ones.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Been going for years”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have loved this place ever since I was little. I am glad that it is finally getting the recognition it deserves here on Trip Advisor! The donuts are very fresh and have always satisfied. Bring them in to work or bring kids along to pick out their favorites! (I always enjoyed picking out a sprinkled donut from the variety of different sprinkle colors).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grannys Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Grannys Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing