We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet was excellent.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We saw Air Supply. Staff was amazing, they helped us get seated.
Concert was great, ask everyone to get their drinks between songs. It was hard to get into it with everyone constantly moving in and out.

We had a dinner buffet and a breakfast buffet. Dinner lines were long. Food was really good, everything hot and fresh. Prime rib and ham, excellent.

Breakfast buffet was equally good. Ask for two drinks, servers struggle when it busy.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 333 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

This used to be my favorite casino near the Minneapolis area. No more, and it breaks my heart. I'm not quite sure what has happened over the past year or so, but I can tell you that almost all of the reasons why I used to enjoy being here are long gone. It seems that the management has been increasingly unkind to their employees and now most of the good ones have left or choose to not work much anymore. The hosts used to be amazing... they are now simply a group of angry bullies. The casino, as well as the hotel seem to be on a downward spiral; It has become impossible to have fun here with the terrible smoke, horrible mess everywhere, low employee morale, terrible payback, and rumors of serious corruption throughout the property. Not only has the management done irreparable damage to their reputation and overall environment, is definitely time for this place to be investigated for corrupt monetary handling. DO NOT play here if you want to win, or have any desire for your money to last awhile. Period.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa2011_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Yuck! The smoke was UNBEARABLE! Mind you my husband smokes, so I am used to smoke. Way too crowded. Had to wait in line for everything, beers, ticket exchange machines, slot machines, black jack tables etc. Very dirty, empty cups and ashtrays on all the slots- even in non smoking. All of the fun machines, Cheers, Willy Wonka, Wizard of Oz, Roulette, Monopoly are gone. Replaced with weird new machines that all look alike, with cheap graphics. To top it off I had 3 people spill drinks on me, saw 2 fights, and heard Bongos bartender yelling at drunk customers. Finally went up to room with throbbing headache and ruined my new shoes in the Eagle tower elevator because I was standing in an inch of spilled beer! My husband came up to our room 20 minutes later with take out from currents restaurant and stepped in the same beer!
Never again!

Room Tip: Boutique suite is very nice. Bedding was very comfortable, location is right off elevator so you he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just was in Current Restaurant and could not get waited on so we left. The BJ tables have worse rules then they use too because the new management is getting greedy yet their services are getting worse and their employees are unhappy. As others have said, worse ventilation there is. Like smoking a cigarette being in there. Also overpriced room.

Stay away from this casino if you know what is good for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were there for the Joan Jett show, and we reserved a double room. The casino is smoky beyond belief, and that awful smell spills over into the hotel, all I can say? ICK. Our room was definatley not worth the price of $191 after tax; the window was smeared and so dirty you couldn't see outside on half of it; the room wasn't very clean either. Overall? I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steffijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Went to TI for a concert. We had to walk through an area of the casino to get to the event center and walk through the same area of the casino when we left. These walks caused our clothing to reek of second hand smoke. It was so disgusting I drove home with a window open (in cold weather) to air out our clothing. We put everything we were wearing (including winter jackets) into the washing machine when we got home. I pity all non-smokers who go to TI.

Seeing Joan Jett & the Blackhearts in concert was a once in a lifetime experience.

My next ticket purchase will not be for any artist performing at TI unless the walk to Event Center is smoke-free or until the area is more efficiently vented of smoke.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank richie1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked a Friday and Saturday night to attend an event at the event center. The pricing was reasonable given a weekend at a casino ($120 range). Sadly, it went downhill fast after we got into the room.

My husband turned down the sheets and we noticed what appeared to be multiple stains on the sheets (blood or other dark substance). At the same time, he noticed a stain on the bedskirt and dust all around the room where the carpet met the wall and behind the bed. Going a bit further, the filter on the air conditioner/heater had a layer of dust and appeared it hadn't received attention in a long time. Overall, besides the cleaning issues, the room was dated but had a flat screen TV. We decided to not stay there and spoke to a manager to check out. I will give the manager credit for understanding our concerns and cancelling our reservation with no issues.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TopSecretTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welch
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
6.4 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#7 of 9 in Red Wing
376 reviews
7 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
353 reviews
6.5 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Address: 5734 Sturgeon Lake Rd, Welch, MN 55089-9647
Location: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Island Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque views of rolling Minnesota prairies and the scenic bluffs of the Mississippi River Valley, lies a Caribbean getaway filled with sights, sounds and experiences you won't find anywhere else. Filled with thousands of slots, row upon row of blackjack tables, mouth-watering cuisine, top-notch entertainment and luxurious hotel accommodations, it's no wonder Treasure Island Resort & Casino is the Midwest's premier entertainment destination.Treasure Island Resort & Casino began as a one-room bingo hall in 1984 and has since grown into a bright economic opportunity for members of the Prairie Island Indian Community, who own and operate the casino.Located just forty miles from the Twin Cities outside the town of Red Wing, MN, some of the casino's most unique offerings include a marina, golf course and 100-passenger cruise ship. With so many entertainment and dining options at your fingertips, you're going to want to take your time and stay awhile. Our luxurious casino hotel boasts 500 rooms with accommodation options to fit any level of luxury and convenience. Opt for our standard hotel rooms, indulge in a spacious suite or if you prefer sleeping under the stars, there's our marina and RV park in the warmer months. Go all in any which way you choose at Treasure Island Resort & Casino. Located just outside the Minneapolis / St. Paul metro in Red Wing, MN, our 150,000 square foot casino floor is bursting with excitement. We offer over 2,200 state-of-the-art slot machines, over 50 table games including blackjack, poker, video keno, video poker and bingo. Additionally, Treasure Island Resort & Casino boasts the largest non-smoking casino area in the Midwest. When it comes to entertainment, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is raising the stakes. From the biggest names in music to the funniest comedians, we'll put you in front of the action. Check out the local music scene every weekend in Parlay Lounge or come down for a headlining performer in our 3,000 seat Island Event Center! Any way you play, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is a sure bet for a good time! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Welch
Treasure Island Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing