We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend at Treasure Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice weekend at Treasure Island”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at Treasure Island for a conference for my husband. Rooms were quite nice--clean, comfortable beds, quiet and nice amenities. Took a nice walk on the property, and I was impressed how friendly all the staff were. They greeted you and waved along the road. Only disappointment was the food from the casino restaurants. The sub shop sounded so good but our sandwiches were seriously lacking. Staff there was friendly, though! Sat down to eat at Currents but asked for meals to go due to wait and irritating flies. Patty melt was greasy and alleged gyro was just ok. Main message: nice place to sleep/stay but eating part is questionable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summersanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    93
    81
    42
    40
See reviews for
62
129
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It was a good rainy day in Sept and wasn't much going on. I don't gamble often, but some friends wanted to I joined in. We had such a good time playing black jack and the buffet was excellent! Can't wait to go back1

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Weston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I love this place. We go every year for my husband's birthday and without fail, we have a great time. The hotel rooms are beautiful and clean. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The gambling, bowling, bingo-so much fun! The one (serious) downfall? The buffet. It's very obvious that most of the food is frozen-the chicken nuggets, the egg rolls, the desserts. The mac n' cheese? I don't think that you could get soggier noodles. You might as well puree the stuff. The salad bar looks beautiful...but the dressing. My god. Do you all taste this stuff? What's up with the tiny, dry waffles? Are they frozen too? Why are the eggs spongy and full of water on the bottom? I could go on, but I'm starting to get a stomach ache. Anyway, 4 stars for the hotel/experience. Negative 4 stars for buffet. You'll have a great time, but you'd do better to eat out of the vending machine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawgirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My sister had a birthday bowling and pizza party for a 9 yr old boy. It was a lot of fun. I have stayed here twice before and love it. The food is good too. Ya can't go wrong. I will be back. My son wants a party there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryansmom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at Treasure Island for three nights last week. I had a boutique suite that was wonderful! The bathroom was huge with an amazing shower and a seperate tub. If you are having a meeting and need just a little private space, the dinning room table will fill the bill.....Again, this was an excellent venue.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms in the "Eagle Tower"..they are the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

1 room on 5th floor for 1 night NO PROBLEMS, 1 ROOM 7TH FLOOR 2 NITES TOTAL NIGHTMARE ! My room was totally gross after a long day of travel to get there; I was given wrong room # simple fix , down to desk back up 7th fl. now right room. I flopped on bed 2 call family let them know I made it, look up and see booger's and hand prints on ceiling, A/C not good small vent top on ceiling corner, shower full of hair and scum, coffee pot very dirty still had used grounds in it. I was given a credit but when I checked out, they did credit me some 4 first night, BUT $30 + taxes above quote for 2nd night. NOT $159.00 room in my book. Flat screen TV to small for room size. No mimi fridg. or micro that you think would come with that price.
The Casino is super huge offer's smoking and non smoking rooms bowling gym etc...My adivice is really check room over. I was on 7th floor and the court yard was so loud till 4:oo AM , It's a very large place 500 rooms so get a good deal or don't go. On the Plus side the folks that do work there are VERY NICE, so for what it's worth one room was fine the other WAS NOT! Guess ya gamble on what room ya get. Hope this helps,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMYHSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Welch hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Treasure Island Resort and Casino. The casino is very nice although a bit tight on the slots. The highlight was the Bingo Gone Wild, we had a blast and will be back to do it again. The hotel was very nice, our room was clean and no smoke smell, even in the Buffalo section. Skip the Buffet. I could eat shoe leather if you put salt and butter on it, but even that wouldn't have helped the prime rib. The Brunch buffet the next morning was the exact same as the night before with an egg station on the side, I think most of the food really was from the night before. Overall a very nice stay but drive the 10 minutes into town to eat.

Room Tip: Buffalo non smoking honeymoon jacuzzi suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fix143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welch
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
6.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
332 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
7.2 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
316 reviews
19.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Property: Treasure Island Resort & Casino
Address: 5734 Sturgeon Lake Rd, Welch, MN 55089-9647
Location: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Island Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque views of rolling Minnesota prairies and the scenic bluffs of the Mississippi River Valley, lies a Caribbean getaway filled with sights, sounds and experiences you won't find anywhere else. Filled with thousands of slots, row upon row of blackjack tables, mouth-watering cuisine, top-notch entertainment and luxurious hotel accommodations, it's no wonder Treasure Island Resort & Casino is the Midwest's premier entertainment destination.Treasure Island Resort & Casino began as a one-room bingo hall in 1984 and has since grown into a bright economic opportunity for members of the Prairie Island Indian Community, who own and operate the casino.Located just forty miles from the Twin Cities outside the town of Red Wing, MN, some of the casino's most unique offerings include a marina, golf course and 100-passenger cruise ship. With so many entertainment and dining options at your fingertips, you're going to want to take your time and stay awhile. Our luxurious casino hotel boasts 500 rooms with accommodation options to fit any level of luxury and convenience. Opt for our standard hotel rooms, indulge in a spacious suite or if you prefer sleeping under the stars, there's our marina and RV park in the warmer months. Go all in any which way you choose at Treasure Island Resort & Casino. Located just outside the Minneapolis / St. Paul metro in Red Wing, MN, our 150,000 square foot casino floor is bursting with excitement. We offer over 2,200 state-of-the-art slot machines, over 50 table games including blackjack, poker, video keno, video poker and bingo. Additionally, Treasure Island Resort & Casino boasts the largest non-smoking casino area in the Midwest. When it comes to entertainment, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is raising the stakes. From the biggest names in music to the funniest comedians, we'll put you in front of the action. Check out the local music scene every weekend in Parlay Lounge or come down for a headlining performer in our 3,000 seat Island Event Center! Any way you play, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is a sure bet for a good time! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Resort And Casino
Treasure Island Hotel Welch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing