We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick get away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Reviewed February 21, 2012

the non smoking rooms are nice and clean. The rooms are large and well decorated. We get a couple of comp rooms per month so we use them. Treasure Island has a good staff and plenty to do. The valet parking is good and the check in\out was great. I would recommend it on a weekday as the weekend prices are a lot higher. Free Wi fi is fast. They have over flow parking for busy days and they have buses that will pick you up in the further lots. I will be back. If you are a non gamer, the pool area is great as well as the bowling alley. Treasure Island has been easier to get a comp room now that they have expanded.

Room Tip: Any non smoking room in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlttks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 337 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I will be back! We got a room for ourselves and one for our adult children and stayed for the Eddie Money concert. We had a great time.. We have stayed there 7 times since Nov. as matter fact I'm heading there tonight to play some slots. Great staff clean rooms overall its a fantastic place to play and stay. We love u T.I.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPearce1977Vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Have been coming here for several years for a convention. Rooms are fine. Nothing spectacular and nothing neccessarily bad. Gaming is abundant. Several choices of places to eat. Staff friendly. Wishes they had closer parking. Quite a jog from the parking lot to hotel check in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickyonejustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I was at Treasure Island Resort and Casino to work so I looked at this as more a business trip than pleasure. First off it was -5 degrees and windy when I arrived. The lobby was spacious and warm. Check in was pleasant and efficient. I thought the room was pretty big and had a nice work station with free Wi-Fi. The room was clean and included such things as iron, coffee maker with free coffee and condiments. Temperature control was not a problem and the room never felt cold at all. The bed was very comfortable and I had a good night’s sleep. The casino itself had many slot machines and a few table games, mostly black jack it looked like. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and would have no qualms of staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Room was clean and pillow top mattress was very comfortable. We were in the Eagle tower. Food in snack bar/grill was average. Food price is about the same as Ho Chunk Casino in Wisconsin Dells. Playing slots was worse than at Ho Chunk. Didn't see any people winning in the 4 hours we were in there and we walked the whole casino. We tried penny slots, quarter slots and dollar slots. This was one of the tightest casino that we've played in and we've played in casinos all over Wisconsin, Indiana and West Virginia.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank squeakyclean1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for one night December 29, 2011. We've stayed here before and decided to come back. The hotel room was cleaned and comfortable. We stay in the newer tower in a non-smoking room and were pleased with the room. No smoking smell in the air like we experienced in other casino hotels. The machines are typical for Minnesota, no-looser and no tighter than any other. There is a good selection and they seem to do a good job of keeping them up to date. Unlike others, I didn't find the casino overly smokey and I am a former smoker who hates that smell nowadays. Their buffet is okay, but not great. I don't think it is well layed out so you often had backups to get your food. The line for the buffet restaurant quickly fills up and you can wait a long time to get in. I suggest getting their early as soon as it opens for the evening meal and it went pretty quickly. We didn't eat anywhere else so I can't comment. The nice this at this hotel is they also have a bowling alley which is a nice diversion from gambling all the time. It was reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: Book early for the best selection and be sure to ask for exactly what you want. If it is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here for one night with my husband on 12/26/11. Arrived at about 2 pm, and there was a very long check in line. Decided to go to casino for a little bit first. Casino is very smoky, as are all in MN, but this did seem especially worse as was very crowded and hard to find a seat, let alone one away from smokers. There are non-smoking areas, but they stink too, and didn't have the games I like in them. Casino is fairly large, and I had pretty good luck. We both signed up for players card, and ended up each getting $5 back as well as a free drink ticket each. At about 3 pm decided to try and check in again, line was much smaller and had a 10-15 minute wait. Official check in time is at 4 pm. Stayed in Buffalo tower room 636, the floor was non-smoking. Upon entering room discovered a large 1.5 liter empty orange juice container sitting on bathroom counter. Housekeeping must have forgot to remove, was a little upsetting, but rest of room was clean so decided to stay. Had 2 queen beds, and a view of parking lot. Room also had a flat screen tv, desk, another chair, and a large bathroom. Lots of counter space in bathroom, and good smelling toiletries. Towels were very thin, and scratchy, very dissapointing. Comforters also appeared past there prime, and were scratchy as well. Pillow were fine, did not seem crunchy as other reviewers stated. Slept fairly well, did hear some trains during the night. Not bad for $69 per night. Ate dinner at the buffet, and we really enjoyed. Had donuts and smoothies in the am at coffee shop that were good as well. Casino was a lot emptier in am, so could play almost any machine you wanted. Would go again as enjoyed the casino, as long as had a good deal on room rate, maybe the rooms in Eagle tower are nicer. If smoke really bothers you stay away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursecommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welch
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Red Wing, MN
6.4 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
7 mi away
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
98 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
#1 of 5 in River Falls
249 reviews
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Cottage Grove, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Address: 5734 Sturgeon Lake Rd, Welch, MN 55089-9647
Location: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welch
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Island Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque views of rolling Minnesota prairies and the scenic bluffs of the Mississippi River Valley, lies a Caribbean getaway filled with sights, sounds and experiences you won't find anywhere else. Filled with thousands of slots, row upon row of blackjack tables, mouth-watering cuisine, top-notch entertainment and luxurious hotel accommodations, it's no wonder Treasure Island Resort & Casino is the Midwest's premier entertainment destination.Treasure Island Resort & Casino began as a one-room bingo hall in 1984 and has since grown into a bright economic opportunity for members of the Prairie Island Indian Community, who own and operate the casino.Located just forty miles from the Twin Cities outside the town of Red Wing, MN, some of the casino's most unique offerings include a marina, golf course and 100-passenger cruise ship. With so many entertainment and dining options at your fingertips, you're going to want to take your time and stay awhile. Our luxurious casino hotel boasts 500 rooms with accommodation options to fit any level of luxury and convenience. Opt for our standard hotel rooms, indulge in a spacious suite or if you prefer sleeping under the stars, there's our marina and RV park in the warmer months. Go all in any which way you choose at Treasure Island Resort & Casino. Located just outside the Minneapolis / St. Paul metro in Red Wing, MN, our 150,000 square foot casino floor is bursting with excitement. We offer over 2,200 state-of-the-art slot machines, over 50 table games including blackjack, poker, video keno, video poker and bingo. Additionally, Treasure Island Resort & Casino boasts the largest non-smoking casino area in the Midwest. When it comes to entertainment, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is raising the stakes. From the biggest names in music to the funniest comedians, we'll put you in front of the action. Check out the local music scene every weekend in Parlay Lounge or come down for a headlining performer in our 3,000 seat Island Event Center! Any way you play, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is a sure bet for a good time! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Resort And Casino
Treasure Island Hotel Welch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing