We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend”
other travelers have booked this property
Portnahaven Bay looking up to King Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portnahaven Bay looking up to King Street
Double bedroom with sea view to front View from King Street into Portnahaven Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Portnahaven Bay looking up to King Street
Double bedroom with sea view to front
View from King Street into Portnahaven Bay
Seal in Portnahaven Bay
Dining area in kitchen
Lossit Beach, Islay
King Street, Portnahaven, with lighthouse island behind
Portnahaven, Isle of Islay
Saligo Beach, Islay
Seals basking in Portnahaven bay
Sitting room with direct sea view and open fire
Other side of sitting room, opening into kitchen
Claddach - raised stony beach just outside Portnahaven
Portnahaven sunset
View of King Street from Shore Street, Portnahaven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portnahaven, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
royalvelv...
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful cottage in stunning location.
True peace and tranquility.
The views from the front of the cottage across the bay are beautiful and the seals plentiful. The same view can be seen from the top of the large back garden.
The cottage is very well equipped with all you need and more. It is clean and cosy.
Portnahaven is a great base for exploring Islay. It is the prettiest spot on the Island and has some of the best beaches and coastline nearby.
We are going back in MAy to Portnahaven as enjoyed it so much. Unfortunately this fantastic cottage was booked up so have had to stay elsewhere. However we would not hesitate to stay there again. Recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
What a lovely review from lovely guests - so glad you liked it, and glad to hear you're coming back to Islay. Sorry we can't have you to stay in May, but we're sure you'll have a great visit and hopefully see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew b
Driffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A warm welcome awaits anyone lucky enough to book this fabulous and well equiped cottage. It has excellent views across the bay within lovely tranquil surroundings. We can't wait to come back! Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thanks Andrew, so glad you enjoyed it, and we'd love to have you back some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cottage overlooking a beautiful bay.”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great self catering cottage. Very clean and comfortable. It has everything you need for a good stay. The owner Jean lives next door and was very welcoming. If you need anything you just have to ask. We really enjoyed the scones and jam she left for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay, and look forward to maybe seeing you again one day. Glad you enjoyed the scones!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth S
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage ”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for a week while exploring Islay, what a great cottage. Views out of the front windows on to the beautiful bay and the seals. Lovely sunsets also obviously weather permitting. Jean was very friendly, helpful and had also made some lovely scones for our arrival also bringing round some crab claws. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thanks Ruth,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and glad the seals were on good form! Hope to see you again some day,
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review - you were great guests, and we'd love to see you again some day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Curious68...
1 review
“The best place. Better than we hoped for”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The owners Jean and Ian were very nice, super helpful and made us feel very welcome. Jean even baked us wonderful scones.
What a beautiful little village. We spent many peaceful happy hours watching the seals and walking around the village. The walks often ended at the great little village pub
Our son and his girlfriend loved it so much they got engaged there. Whats better than that?
We will return for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review - it was a pleasure having you and your family to stay. Congratulations again to Corrie and James - we wish them a very happy future together. And of course we'd love to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing friendly welcome”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived in beautiful Portnahaven and were warmly welcomed by Jean who owns Bay View and lives next door. We immediately were made to feel at home in this lovely village on an island where everyone is genuinely happy to see you.

The Bay is lovely, well equipped with everything you might need for a stay and the home made scones with jam waiting for us on arrival were not only welcome but delicious!

Every morning we awoke, pulled the curtains and looked into the bay with its seals - truly idyllic. Jean and the other residents of Portnahaven were only too happy to talk about their island, where to visit and their favourite places. The local pub also does good pub grub of an evening and is a short walk away.

We will definitely be back and after travelling the island, can think of no nicer place to stay.

Thank you Jean and hope it won't be too long before we are back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review Adrian - it was a pleasure having you to stay, and best wishes for your wedding later this summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing