We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal Out”

The Chequers Pub & Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Westoning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Chequers is a great Pub in the heart of Westoning, just off Junction 12 of the M1. A great place to eat, drink and relax. No pool tables or fruit machines just good old fashioned pub values with a quality food offering.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal Out”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went to the chequers for a family birthday. The food is really lovely - mix of british and italian. Lovely pastas and fish. Wonderful starters - squid is yummy. Everyone had a real mix of course and we all really enjoyed our meals - gluten free chocolate torte with raspberry sorbet it AMAZING. Best part however was the service - really exceptional, friendly, courteous and just really really good. I would recommend them. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. - great for couples, families or celebrations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Owner at The Chequers Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Firstly- thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate your family birthday. I'm delighted to hear you had a good time at The Chequers and that you enjoyed our menu. We try to offer a good mix of food to suit everyone's taste and mood so many thanks for the thumbs up! I'm particularly pleased to hear that you were so well looked after by our great team who I know will also be thrilled to read your comments.
Our menu will soon be changing for the Spring season so please come back and try out some of our new dishes!
Kind Regards,
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    116
    30
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The place to eat”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I regularly chose to eat and drink here and would recommend the sausage or steak! the food is always good and they are very accommodating to my wishes. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. There is always a brilliant atmosphere. I wish them all the best for the future :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Owner at The Chequers Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Louise,
Thank you so much for the lovely review- and for visiting us so regularly!Our steak and sausages, like all our meat, come from our local butchers, BW Deacon, and I quite agree they are delicious. Our team here are really dedicated to providing excellent customer service so I'm thrilled to hear we've been looking after you so well and will certainly look forward to doing so again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westoning
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good village pub!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Being a regular at the chequers I often eat in the restaurant and have no complaints on that part, would recommend the steak to anyone! The staff are very welcoming and friendly. It also has a nice atmosphere when coming for a few drinks with friends, glad to see the pub in good hands and hope to see it have many more years at this success :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carley92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Owner at The Chequers Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hello Carly and thank you so much for your really lovely comments. We've had a great 7 months since opening which we could never have achieved without the support and loyalty of local regulars such as yourself. It's great to hear you're still enjoying the food,service and atmosphere at The Chequers and I know all the staff look forward to welcoming you back here again and again.
See you soon!
Kind Regards,
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very slow service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I visited the pub on Sunday for lunch. We telephoned ahead to see if they could accommodate us, which we were told they could. We arrived about 2.30pm, well after the lunchtime rush. We ordered our mains which took 45 minutes to arrive. There was no apology from the waiter when the food finally arrived. Food was ok. We would have ordered pudding but the long wait for the mains left us feeling annoyed and we could not be bothered to hang around even longer for pudding. I note I am not the first to comment on the slow service. I am not in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Owner at The Chequers Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Gemma,
I'm terribly sorry to hear you had such a wait for your meals which, I quite agree, is completely unacceptable.I can't imagine what could have caused such a delay but would certainly like to investigate this further.I have tried to contact you over this past week to discuss it further and left you a message so please do call me back so that I can apologise in person.
Kind Regards,
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb and family friendly too!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, modern twist on traditional pub food. Staff were very helpful and great with children, my 6 year old was even shown around the kitchen! Well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Owner at The Chequers Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your great comments Jayne. So glad to hear you enjoyed our food and that our staff are looking after our younger customers just as well as our older ones!
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Philip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Pub & Kitchen also viewed

Flitton, Bedfordshire
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Maulden, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Chequers Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing