We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House, Lovely Views and Excellent Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of St Johns View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Johns View and the surrounding Cornish countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
St Johns View and the surrounding Cornish countryside
Modern kitchen with all the mod cons
Crisp white linen and wonderful views
The staircase and vaulted entrance hall
The kitchen with adjoining breakfast bar / office space
Twin bedroom
The large open plan living area - ideal for holidays!
The large open plan living area
Bedroom 1 with 1 double bed
Bathroom 1 with large walk in shower
Bathroom 1 with tub bath and heated towel rail
Bathroom 2 with Bath and Shower over
Bedroom 3 (Triple) and Bathroom 3 with Shower and WC
Bathroom 3
Sunset from the deck (Rob's photo)
Stunning Cornish sunset are just a mile away!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Crackington Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
prisliz
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
“Great House, Lovely Views and Excellent Location”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

St. John’s View is a lovely house and so comfortable – we had a wonderful stay. We were 2 couples and 2 boys, age 11 and 14 and the house worked very well for us. The open concept of the house is great, the kitchen is nicely set up and supplied and the large deck with lovely views of fields and the sea to the right was wonderful and well used. The many lambs and sheep in the field are very entertaining, and the burbling brook in the quiet evenings is a treat. The 4 generous bathrooms are fantastic – very modern, clean, lots of hot water and good towels; a real treasure, particularly for a group. The location of the house is excellent – quiet and removed from the more populated areas of the western Cornwall coast, which we visited, of course, (from Bude all the way down to St. Ives) but so nice to come home to a quieter space to relax. The Coast is stunning as are some of the very old churches and walking trails tucked away in the countryside. We highly recommend the house and the location – we would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Wonderful Bathrooms, Large Deck, Location
Liked least: No Recycling Bins and not all the large glass doors opened to the deck, but we think those are both temporary issues.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Amanda and I are really pleased that you enjoyed both the house and also its fantastic location. Kindest Regards, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanley99
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful house”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at St Johns View from the 6th to 13th September. Had an excellent week at this beautiful house. The house is very modern and was spotlessly clean. The decor throughout is very tasteful. All the bedrooms are very comfortable and have lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The bathrooms are of high standard with great showers and plenty of towels. The open plan living area/kitchen downstair is spacious and again has a lovely aspect over the fields behind. An extremely large decked area at the back is great for outside dining and sunbathing. A stunning property, you wont be disappointed.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore80...
Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous House”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have rented before in Cornwall but this time we seemed to have struck gold! The weather was sunny and warm as we travelled via the Coombe Barton inn for a quick drink, then when we got to the house we all said WOW :-) It was all we could of asked for spotless clean and beautifully decorated throughout and we all wished it was our house! I loved the bathrooms and our toddler loved the decking area. It was a great base to explore the surrounding areas of Port Issac, Boscastle, Padstow etc. We also loved Crackington Haven beach. For all families with young children, there is a great play area five minutes up the road opposite the shop (turn right out of the driveway). We had an amazing week with brilliant weather, one thing I would mention is maybe the house could benefit from having a couple of fans as in the evening upstairs it got alittle warm. Thanks for allowing us to stay in such a lovely home. Mark and Natalie Tattum, Staffordshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan layout
Liked least: No Cheese Grater!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Superb Place in a Brilliant Location”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

St Johns View is more than comfortable. It provides a high level of accommodation which allows you to relax from the moment you step through the door.
Superb views with easy access to the rest of North Cornwall to explore. After four visits we still can not speak highly enough of this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St. John's View, got to be one of the best holiday homes”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

St. John's view, well what can I say sure had the wow factor. Furnished to a high standard with everything you need and such a peaceful place to stay. Would highly recommend St. John's view to anyone wanting a luxury holiday. The staff at the Coombe Barton Inn are really friendly and the Carvery is one of the best.
A big thank you to the owners of St. John's View.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatWald...
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High quality cottage near the sea with loads to do nearby”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

St Johns View is a really lovely place to stay but with all modern cons - comfortable beds, everything furnished to high standards and I can't think of anything we were missing in the kitchen despite cooking a roast one day.

It's 0.9 miles to the nearest pub (The Coombe Barton Inn by the beach) but a bit of steep walk back! Wi-fi at the cottage was useful because 3G and phone signal were a bit patchy in the area.

The view is fab and it's a great base to visit places along the coast. We felt very warm, cosy and secure there despite the winter gales we experienced. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleyfa...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fabulous house in a lovely part of the World”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed at St Johns View every year for the last 6 years and we fully intend to keep coming back. It's a fabulous house in one of our favourite parts of the World. The quality of the build and decoration are outstanding. We visited this year with two sets of friends who were also impressed and keen to return.

There's lots to do in the area for all ages. Our kids surfed despite it being October/November. We also enjoyed the Camel Trail cycling nearby as well as a multitude of good walks and mootches around Padstow and Boscastle. The Coombe Barton Inn at Crackington does good pub grub ... as well as an excellent sparkling apple juice they call Rattler Cyder!

Highly recommended and will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I can never get out of the shower!!
Liked least: We were there for the BIG storm which made it a bit blowy on walks!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing