We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coombe Barton Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We walked in from Boscastle across the scenic coastal route & came down the winding lanes towards the Inn. We were worried that we would't be able to find space for the driver to park the bus, but we need'nt have.

Bar service was great, smiles & whitty banter all round for our group. We needed those drinks after walking all that way. Well done guys.

The staff were well extremely helpful, especially with knowledge of the beers on offer & the menu too. All our meals arrived at the same time, not bad considering there were ten of us. Needless to say it looked & tasted fantastic.

We probably would have walked on had we not been advised to stop in by fellow walkers on the route. So glad we did too.

I'm coming back in the summer, this time with the wife for a more sedate stay & to make the most of that lovely beach. Coombe Barton Inn, what a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalky1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 224 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

The pub serves good quality food (sourced locally where possible) and a good selection of wine, beer and cider. It is in a fantastic location right on the beach and has a separate dining room and function room. The new managers are already enticing back the locals and have regular quiz nights and music nights. On Saturday they had a childrens halloween party which my kids loved!

The staff were friendly and the atmosphere lovely, the children had a great time and so did I!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertieW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Coombe Barton Inn with my wife and 8 yr old son. We received a very warm welcome from the New manager/ friendly staff and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iiiiich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The pub has just been taken over by new management. Food is good and has great local real ales. The location is fantastic overlooking the beach with spectacular sunsets.

Try it out!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlmo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We went to Crackington Haven for the day despite the awful reviews given on this page. We had a wonderful day. The location was fantastic. We had a bar meal at the Coombe Barton Inn, very fresh crab sandwiches and hot pork baguette. It was delcious. The service was quick, staff friendly and everywhere spotlessly clean. The pub does suffer from a lack of identity but with the beautiful view from all the windows in the bar who cares!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

bitterly dissappointed with our 3 night stay at the inn during march 2008, rude staff, poor food and poor excuses for everything paticularly from all the female staff. Aside from that the good news that we picked up from local folks in the bar was that the owners hadnt even paid their rent for 18 months and were soon to be evicted along with all the staff!! good riddance.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank nellietheelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Despite the great spot, was very disappointed with this pub which can't seem to make its mind up what it wants to be. Is it a. trendy London bar with leather cushions/flashing lager pumps or b. country dining pub with tables cloths or c. Touristy and tatty Cornish beach bar. Staff rude and disinterested, beer OK, food finished at 2.30 on half term Sunday inside pub despite open canteen below, grubby interior. Much potential with right landlord. Will not return.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank pipandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coombe Barton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Barton Inn

Address: Mill Ball Hill, Crackington Haven EX23 0JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crackington Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crackington Haven
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Coombe Barton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing