We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty coastal cottage, right on the coast path.”
other travelers have booked this property
Abels Cottage converted blacksmith's cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abels Cottage converted blacksmith's cottage.
Sitting / Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Abels Cottage converted blacksmith's cottage.
Sitting / Dining area
The large sitting room leads to the dining and kitchen area
The dining table is a lovely sociable space while the food is being prepared
Abels has a lovely large granite worktop in it's kitchen
The mezzanine - the double bed is tucked behind a small partition out of view from downstairs
Abels double room
Bunk room with single bed
Bath and shower room
The coastpath walk to Crackington Haven is absolutely stunning and right on the doorstep. i
View of Cleave Farm cottages from coast path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Crackington Haven, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Alex G
2 reviews
“Pretty coastal cottage, right on the coast path.”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Drive access road so no passing traffic at all. Slightly disappointed that another cottage was being built outside the kitchen window, which would have had the best view, and wasn’t mentioned before our arrival. Small complaint though, as the cottage was pretty, rooms lovely and set in a pretty communal garden with a picnic bench outside. We very much enjoyed our weekend here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigataman...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best cottage in Cornwall!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Perfect place to stay for family and friends. Cottage was lovely with stunning views just minutes walk away! Thanks to the very friendly owners we had everything we needed. Definitely 100% recommend this place to others. Thank You!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. It was great to meet you all and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire S
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just completely perfect.”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We decided to go away for Christmas for the first time and booked Abels Cottage. It was the by far best Christmas we've ever had, the cottage is perfect, full of character and charm. It has everything you need and its location is idylic. Surrounded by breathtaking views ..you only have to walk for 2 minutes until you're on top of the cliffs on the coast path. I can't tell you how much it made a difference to be here over Christmas , the children (teenagers) were relaxed, and we had real quality time with each other.
Gary greeted us when we arrived..at 10.45pm..(Sorry Gary!) and the cottage was warm and cosy, Katy is lovely and friendly..she said we could call on her for anything we needed. The pub in Crackington Haven is relaxed and friendly, we had a good night there with lovely staff and excellent food. Bude is such a pretty town with everything you need and fabulous beaches. the dog was in his element!
Thank you so much Katy & Gary.. we can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely positive comments. We hope to welcome you to Cleave Farm in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Full of charm and character”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow! What a wonderful place to stay. Abels is full of charm and character. Gorgeous coastline on the doorstep and in the middle of the countryside. Beautiful shared garden with a terrace for morning coffee and early evening drinks. All 7 of us (adults and children alike) fell in love from the very moment we stepped through the door. 45 minute coastal walk to Crackington Haven beach with a fabulous pub. Katy the owner is lovely, friendly and very helpful. We visited Bude, Tintagel, Port Isaac, Boscastle, Widemouth Bay, Liskeard & Looe. Recommend taking the coastal paths as and when you can because the coastline is stunning. Cleave farm and Abels can be seen in the distance on a couoke of my pics. Thank you Katy and family.... we will be back xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay so much. Great that the North Cornish Coast has got under your skin and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thanks for such a lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley P
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“idyllic”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our family had a wonderful time at 'Abels' cottage. The cottage was clean, comfy with every thing you could possible need....even pot holders for the oven ! My family were so taken aback with how pretty it was and its idyllic setting, the perfect retreat for my son who was recovering from illness . Even though Abels cottage is well and truly off the beaten track its quite central for places such as Padstow, Port Issac, Bude...we visited these and more by car , usually about an hour in car , but if you go via the scenic routes it all adds to a wonderful day out ( you'll need a car ).....Widemouth Bay just 15 mins away....perfect for the surfers !! We very much hope to return next year .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendliness of the owner, the cottage and its setting
Liked least: nothing comes to mind........
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliette_B
Arnhem
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Abels Cottage for 1 week in June. The cottage is exactly as in the pictures. It has everything you need to relax and enjoy Cornwall.
The kitchen is well equiped, the beds very comfortable, nice bathroom and the livingroom is stunning with the high ceiling and high window. Although some curtains in front of this window and the front door would have been nice for a little more privacy.
Outside you can have your morning coffee on the terrace.
Best thing is that in only 200 steps you are the beautiful coastline with the stunning cliffs. Perfect for a walk, evening picknick or watch the Sunset.

The location is very convenient, close to Bude, Boscastle and Tintagel and only one hour to Exeter.

We can highly recommend Abels cottage and we are sure we will return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8Henderso...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting. Very friendly and helpful owners living on site. Wonderful coastal walk to crackington haven beach from the door. Just returned for the 10th year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing !
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing