We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Wayzata”
Review of Sakana Sushi

Sakana Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Sakana Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Wayzata
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Wayzata”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and family have been visiting Sakana since it opened years ago. The atmosphere is great. Views are wonderful and Johnny behind the sushi bar is amazing. He's one of the best chefs we've had anywhere anytime. The fish is always fresh. Johnny has always been most creative when we've ask for something unique.

Be sure to ask to sit in Travis's section if you don't sit with Johnny at the bar. Travis always remembers us. Always makes great drink recommendations and doesn't miss a beat when it comes to service.

The lunch boxes are perfect for a quick business lunch too. And in the summer we have it delivered to our boat..... how can you beat that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnotherIceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We love Sakana Sushi for lunch. The food is wonderful and the staff are very friendly. It is very quiet so you can have a good conversation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I come here very often!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Their sushis are made of top-rated ingredients -- their fishes are fresh and have never been frozen, and their sushi rice is also highly grated (twice cost of ordinary rice).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank YJCinMinnetonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant late aft. Happy Hour”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After hitting Erik's Bikes, we looked online for a nearby sushi restaurant. Navigating was fine, parking was tricky though, not familiar with town. We ordered a selection of happy hour specials, including dragon and salmon rolls. Lovely view of the lake and good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kk j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, MN
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Sushi treat!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had a wonderful sushi roll over lunch break the other day. They have a nice lunch menu as well as a take out menu. Service was great and the roll was awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakana Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakana Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing