We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi”
Review of Sakana Sushi

Sakana Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Sakana Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Wayzata
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was the first sushi place i loved it had a good view, good food, outdoor seating what more could you ask for. The items that i liked the best here are as follows The Sweet Heart role, the sashimi and the BMW role also make sure to try the Japanese soda it is a cool bottle and tastes amazing. The thing that i found most convenient was the boat side delivery you can just pull up to the dock go in and order and they will bring it out.
This is one of my regular places and it will stay that way for a long time, and if you like Japanese cuisine a lot and are in town for a while check out Osaka, it is the same owners and Sakana sushi and has some of the same stuff plus hibachi (Bennihana style)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good sushi, fair service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our meal and the ambiance. The sushi was good and fresh. The white tiger roll was beautiful and tasty. We would definitely go back. I only wish the service had been a bit more attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sushi Find On the Lake”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A wonderful sushi restaurant on Lake Minnetonka. A small, complete space with tables, booths, a full bar and a sushi chef, this is a real find. With excellent service, the restaurant's menu is varied, original and extensive. Not cheap but not staggering in price, either. A most enjoyable spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for local sushi.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went because we had a groupon and it is very close to home. The ambiance is nice, we were surprised to see quite a few children there. Service was attentive if not a bit hurried. We sat right down with a reservation in a nice side booth.
We had the Szechuan dumplings which were a bit undercooked, but edible. Would probably go for the spring rolls next time.
The dynamite roll with soft shell crab and shrimp was spectacular and very pretty.
We had the chef's choice 16 piece sashimi. The fish was all good, but it lacked a bit in presentation. It only took up half of the small plate and none of the sushi was paired with rice. Also, when will sushi joints start calling white tuna escolar? There is no white tuna, and it's time to tell everyone what they are getting. it was great though and everyone seems to still call it white tuna. All in all worth the money especially with the groupon. With the $20 off everything was about $70. Will go back, but will probably tend towards Yumi in excelsior first.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasty but they have issues.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Made a reservation and arrived early hoping to sit on the patio. Was disappointed that it was filled with kids taking four tables and their 3 adults seated at a table for 6. We were seated inside and my adult son was bitten by a bee after a few minutes.....The waiter was really nice and took our order. When the food arrived, one roll had imitation crab meat instead of crab. BIG PROBLEM, as my husband is allergic to scallops, which is an ingredient in imitation crab meat (fake crab). He could not eat so I gave him mine and no sharing.....Overall, the food was good, small portions and very expensive. I have to say, it is hit or miss here. Ambience is OK, food is good but they need to accurately list ingredients, if it says it is crab, serve crab, NOT the cheap, fake stuff. one thing was strange, after being seated, the hostess asked me if we were using a Groupon coupon...makes me wonder if we are subsidizing the coupon users......

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minnetonkamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakana Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakana Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing