We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walnut Grove Minnesota is the childhood home of author Laura Ingalls Wilder who penned the “Little House” series of books. The Museum consists of 9 structures telling the stories of the Ingalls' family and other early pioneers to Walnut Grove; several of which are mentioned in Laura's book "On the Banks of Plum Creek". A great family friendly environment with several hands on locations throughout the complex of buildings. Visit in July on one of 3 weekends for our Wilder Pageant and Family Festival.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Aurora, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited during the cast reunion time, so there were LOTS of people there. This is a very nice museum, with a room dedicated to the TV series Little House on the Prairie. Wonderful gift shop, with lots of variety of books, etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank lovesfortrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good stop for LHOTP fans if you are in the area”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I visited the museum while in town for the 40th anniversary of the "Little House on the Prairie" TV series Reunion. There is a good amount of information on the Ingalls and Wilder families, the books and the series. A great stop for Little House fans - books and TV alike. The town was hopping because of all of the fans in town for the cast reunion, so it would have been great if the museum had been a bit more prepared. There seemed to be a lot of sales clerks behind the register at the gift shop and none of them seemed to remember their customer service skills (and we were there very early in the morning on the first day in). They might want to bring in more staff for large events.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We came for the Reunion Weekend and really enjoyed our trip and the museum. Lots of interesting things to look at, especially for a small town exhibit. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Place for LIW Fans (Books and Series)”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Some original Ingalls items and many of Garth Williams' original illustrations. Many photos from the TV series. Other interesting items that could be viewed as more of the era or examples of things from the books. Very good gift shop,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MB219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommend for lovers of Laura Ingalls Wilder or Little House on the Prairie TV show”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We took our grandchildren ages 8 and 11 to Walnut Grove to visit the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum and also attend the Fragments of A Dream Pageant, put on by the community for three weekends in July every year. This is a small town and they provide meals for pageant attenders by old fashioned community dinners every night of the pageant. The museum gave them a taste of pioneer life including a reproduction of a sod house, little school house, two room prairie house and (one the kiddos enjoyed) the old jail cells. There are other buildings on the property, but those were the best ones. We also "splurged" for the $4 bus tour of the actual Wilder sites. It was rather low key, but included a chance to wade in Plum Creek just near the site of the actual dugout that the Ingalls family lived in when they came to Walnut Grove. If you are looking for small town charm, and leave your "city" expectations at home, taking this trip is worthwhile. The pageant was worth the drive, but I would recommend the whole experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JoJo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum also viewed

 

Been to Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing