We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TV fans will enjoy!”

Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walnut Grove Minnesota is the childhood home of author Laura Ingalls Wilder who penned the “Little House” series of books. The Museum consists of 9 structures telling the stories of the Ingalls' family and other early pioneers to Walnut Grove; several of which are mentioned in Laura's book "On the Banks of Plum Creek". A great family friendly environment with several hands on locations throughout the complex of buildings. Visit in July on one of 3 weekends for our Wilder Pageant and Family Festival.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“TV fans will enjoy!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very easy access and parking. Large gift store and area to walk around. Take a picture in the covered wagon at the entrance. The TV section of the museum has the fireplace and mantle from the series. Interesting models, memorabilia, and pictures. You can walk around to different buildings (church, school, etc.) Takes about an hour. Then drive to the Dugout site along the banks of Plum Creek. Not much to see there, but it's part of the experience. Eat at Nellie's Cafe.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Italytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Grove, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hands-on History”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Museum has changed A LOT over the years and now it has a remodeled gift store and 8 buildings on the complex. Laura Ingalls Wilder history, TV show history, hands-on for the kids and an area Veterans exhibit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank nikzig1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see for any Little House on the Prairie fan”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great experience... Nice area to visit. Make sure you visit the home site and Plum Creek as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little House must see”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Have stopped in a few times on my way through town. Having grown up reading the books then seeing the show on Chanel 9 afternoons after school I knew I needed to stop inn. Lots of great stuff. It is fun to see the places that Laura wrote about. Worth the time to stop inn.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Museum, lots of arifacts and interactive exhibits for kids”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went to the museum on the first weeked of the Pageant over July 8-9-10. I could not believe all the artifacts not just the Ingalls and Wilder families, but of the town in general at that time period.

I was concerned my 6 year old may be bored, but she loved playing amongst the prairie flowers, in the old jail and in Grandma's House where there is a large doll exhibit, in the small chapel and playing the many other hands on "prairie" activties.

The gift shop here has a wide range of gifts and books for all ages. I would make sure to stop by the festival like a previous reviewer wrote and purchase bonnetts and prairie dresses, dolls and doll clothing there as the vendors there were much cheaper for those items.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank amy1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum also viewed

 

Been to Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing