We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$200 overcharge. Verbal price quote was not honored.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trappers Landing Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Walker
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“$200 overcharge. Verbal price quote was not honored.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My daughter and son-in-law were going for a weekend stay at Trappers Landing. We wanted to join them and checked the website for pricing. Range printed $185-$290. Instructions say call for accurate pricing (a ploy to verbally quote lower and charge significantly higher). I spoke with general manager Shelly Jones. She said spring rate (before Memorial Day) is $185 night for 1 bedroom townhome.

Upon returning home, the charge was over $600. I contacted Shelly. Her reply, $185 is weekday rates and we charged you weekend rates. I booked directly with Shelly; she knew the stay was Friday-Sunday. The spring rate she told me was $185, pre-memorial day rate due to amenities not available. The restaurant and pool closed.

There is an 8% service fee in addition to room rate for firewood, free smores, sauna, movies, bikes, lawn games, canoes, kayaks, paddle boat, kids camp, pool, waterskiing and tubing, volleyball court, playground, horseshoes) NONE available.

The office closed between 3 and 4 in the afternoon. Guest unable to check out dvds, games, sauna key, store located inside. No employees around to give information on area parks, restaurant, stores. When asking at check-in, clueless. No maps provided. Their response was you can check in Walker 12 miles away.

During our stay other guests provided more information than employees. There is a neighbor resort restaurant, Huddles Resort, open to the public, a 2 minute walk. Store is 15 minutes away in the town of Hackensack. Look for Mike's Meat Market, carries groceries too.

Our advice, get the price in writing, print and present upon check-in. The verbal rate provided by Shelly Long will not be honored and you will be charged a significantly higher rate. $185 promised, $255 charged.

Note the additional fees total 17.875%. 8% service fee, 3% local tax, 6.875% MN tax.

The unit itself was clean, grounds were not well-groomed (grass not cut), and absolutely no service. One employee renting boats early in the day and that was it. Be aware of small pillars in the boat landing parking lot. They have been cut down, but not removed and are not real visible but can damage a tire or car.

Shelly Long offered a $25 certificate to use in their restaurant. No apology and no credit back honoring her price of $185. Horrible customer service, lied to and no attempt to fairly correct.

I did read other reviews and agree if you are only looking for a clean unit to hibernate with no services, this may be the place for you. The units are equipped for self-service. Just be sure you get the price in writing before you book or you will endure the burden.

I now must complete a dispute form and submit to my credit card company, and further submit a report to the BBB. Writing this lengthy review is to alert others interested in this resort. What to expect in regard to charges, lack of customer service, amenities and service fees charged.

Cheryl Vinge

Room Tip: Townhomes close together, small patio, good lake views. Cabins more secluded, but small and only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cherylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
32
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We went here for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the Town Home Suite which was the upstairs room with a King size bed, whirlpool tub and fireplace. It was perfect! Since it was early in the year, there weren't alot of people so we pretty much had totaly privacy - exactly what we were looking for. The room was great! EXACTLY like shown on their website. It had everything we needed. It was beautifully decorated. It gave us the feeling of actually staying at a nice lake place not some hotel done up like a log cabin. Bathroom was awesome! Took several long soaks in the jetted tub. It also had a walk in shower. Loved that we had a balcony to sit with a glass of wine and look out over the lake. (BTW - sun shines towards you in the morning and is at your back in the evening) There was also a small firepit in front next to the shore if we had wanted to have a fire. The front desk was very helpful when needed. They even gave us stuff to make Smores (little after dinner dessert!). We got to see the rest of the town home when we got a couples massage in the downstairs area. Beautiful! Granite countertops in the kitchens and bathrooms. Heated tile on the floor. Husband and i got a fabulous couples massage next to the stone fireplace - totally relaxing! Only small downfall of this place would be that it is about 10 miles from any town but since we weren't looking to be in the middle of any "action", it was exactly what we wanted. Since some plates, cups, wine glasses and silverware were provided, we just packed some things to snack on and for breakfast in the morning. We would TOTALLY stay here again!! Guessing it's a bit busier in the summer though if you wanted more to do. They seemed to have quite the list of family activities there during that season. They also have a restaurant onsite that's only open from May to Sept. Anyways...definitly worth the money spent!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! However, during busier times, it could be possible to have neighbors in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkatmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aitkin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Trapper's Landing for a winter weekend getaway. We stayed two nights and definitely could have stayed two more if we'd been able to! We rented a lakeside suite and our room had an unobstructed view of the expansive frozen lake. The room was very clean and well-decorated and the fireplace, jacuzzi tub, mini refrigerator and other kitchen items were just the amenities we were looking for! Had there been more snow, we would have loved to use the snowshoes that can be rented for free from the office. We did bring our skates and used the rink they made on the ice. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly. I can't think of any reason we wouldn't stay again!

Room Tip: The lakeside suites are affordable yet luxurious and perfect for a short stay for a couple. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Lake home was nicely appointed and kitchen was completely equipped. Lots of things for families to do.
Quiet at night, peaceful during the day even though the resort was busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pft_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We recently stayed three nights at Trapper's Landing Lodge - one word...AMAZING! We choose the location because my daughter wanted to have her wedding there next summer and we wanted to check the place out; you can bet we were very discriminating during our visit. We traveled with six adults and four children, ages 2 to 14. We rented the Three Bedroom Townhome and the Townhome Suite.

The Townhome and Suite were very clean and tasteful decorated. They were built in 2007 so the place is like new. We were able to cook in the lovely kitchen in the Townhome so we only dined at the Beachfire Grille Restaurant on site for two dinners. The service was a tad slow but the wonderful and talkative staff made the time fly (thank you Andy and Emily for making our dinners a treat : )). Actually, Trapper's is staffed with a wonderful staff! Shelley the General Manager was always available and seen around the property often...and always had time for questions or just providing the history of the resort. Pete at the Marina runs all the water activities (free activities, I might mention): fishing, tubing, kayaking, and water skiing...and we tried them all! They also have a rack of bikes that you can checkout to ride on the local trails or just to pedal around the resort.

Our stay was during the time leading into the busy season so the resort was relatively quiet, yet full. Not as many children as we expected.

I cannot think of a negative thing to say about Trapper's Landing Lodge! We will be back next summer for the Wedding!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank troutmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

My family and I have been to Trapper's Landing several times. We love the resort, the people that run it and the atmosphere. Leech lake is beautiful and just a few minutes away is the quaint town of Walker. There is so much to do and you can just simply relax and take in the breath taking views.

We have even met new friends here and continued our friendship beyond Trappers. We highly recommend Trapper's Landing!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJones64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in the Lakehomes at Trapper's Landing and wow...is all we can say. Ultra-modern accomodations on one of the biggest lakes in MN. 5 Stars really doesn't do it justice. What we really enjoyed was that even in winter, a ton of stuff to do right on the premises...even with two 7 year olds. From cross-country skiing, to using a fish house to riding on snowmobiles, and the ice skating rink...it is all there right on site. The girls loved picking out a free DVD for a night time movie or even, using the free Wii to play games.

We cannot wait to go back during summer time for the boating, water trampoline and pool. This place is by far our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvonrentzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walker hotels
10.3 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 7 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
9.6 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.5 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
14.9 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anderson's Northland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trappers Landing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trappers Landing Lodge

Property: Trappers Landing Lodge
Address: 1812 Merit Road NW, Walker, MN 56484-2536
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trappers Landing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Trappers Landing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trappers Landing Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing