We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent my Birthday weekend at Adventure North!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adventure North Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Walker
bemidji
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spent my Birthday weekend at Adventure North!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My friends and family stayed at Adventure North in the cabin Shoreview. Our cabin had a great view of the lake and swimming pool. Although it wasnt open while we were there. we were only there two days but had a great time. It was my birthday weekend so we cooked out (each cabin has it's own grill) and went swimming. there was a floating jungle gym for the kids and and kayaks for the adults. They also had a nice firepit down on the beach for roasting Marshmellows! They will even have someone start the fire for you! Shay and Steve were very accommodating, making sure we had everything we needed. The Cabin was so clean and towels were provided for everyone! i will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: when we go again i would prefer to book Cedars, Heritage or Shoreview. they all have views of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgsarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took our first family vacation at Adventure North and couldn't have been happier! Cabins are great....air conditioning and fans for warm weather and a fireplace for cooler days and nights. Games were there for our one rainy day....but the two best things were the kindness and warmth of the resort staff and the fish cleaning service was a real treat! Thanks to Adventure North for a wonderful experience! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momnascarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed twice at Adventure North Resort, and loved it both times. Very quiet at end of season, and Shay and Steve were accommodating hosts. Stayed in Evergreen Duplex August 2009 overlooking heated pool and superb view of beautiful Leech Lake first trip. Really enjoyed the Jet Tub and updated features of this cabin. Second trip August 2010 stayed in the 3 Bedroom Woodlands cabin, enjoying the screened in porch overlooking the lake for family meals and board games. Fresh towels for bathing and kitchen provided every two days were greatly appreciated, and both kitchens were fully supplied to meet our cooking needs. Only wish is for addition of a Lodge and then it would be perfect!

Room Tip: We preferred the view from the Evergreen Duplex, but chose The Woodlands on our return trip to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Have spent our vacation here several times and the service and kindness is unbeatable. We feel like family. We stayed in the 'beach house' and it was quiet and serene. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in other than home. It's just magic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizm055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Four families rented a variety of cabins at this resort. There were 20 people (13 children ages 1-17). The dock boys unloaded our boat and car and put the boat in the water upon arrival. We had fresh dish & bath towels every other day. The pool was 85 degrees and great for even those cloudy days. Wi-fi worked well from our cabin but that varies depending where you stay as it is based out of the office. The TV and satellite was a nice addition for those rainy days. If you like to fish, two of the best spots on the lake are right out the channel. The owners are around and quite available for any needs you may have but also leave you alone to enjoy your stay. My children were the youngest and appreciated the play ground (which was a bonus being right next to the laundry). We loved, loved, loved it!!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NZapzalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Spent a week at Adventure North Leech Lake Resort With family and frineds. Stayed in Woodlands 3 bedroom cabin July 2010.

Shay and Steve we very accomodating hosts. Always catered to any special request we had. Brought kindling and paper for us to lite evening beach fires. Helped launch and load our boat, even had staff unload all of our luggage.

Resort is nice and compact. Very nice cabins, most right on the lake with fantastic lake, beach and pool access. Woodlands, unfortunateley is a little farther back from the lake, so lacks great view, but has huge lawn to make up for it. Not so nice view of utility building (shop) and back of other cabins.

Pool, beach and harbor well maintained and functional. Narrow ramp in harbor, but Steve will launch your boat for you if you want him to. I did!

Cabin was very clean and spacious with large rooms, even decent closets in bedrooms and huge screened porch, great for late night card games. Also, central air is a rare luxury in an a lake cabin. Clean bathroom and kitchen. Overall above average furniture and decor.

Not a lot of group or kids activities. Caters more to small family reunions. "Playground" was rough and far from main resort area in the back of "trailer park" and cinder block laundry room near enternace of resort.

Owners were super nice and would fulfill any special request. And, WI-FI did work in our cabin! Not that you should be using it while at the lake.

Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

For the first time in history, we left our vacation early due to the unbearable experience and treatment that we received while guests at Adventure North Resort in Walker, MN. I would not recommend Adventure North Resort to anyone. The proprietor Shay Fortier was not accommodating, was insulting, and created an incredibly stressful vacation.
The first disappointment with Adventure North Resort was the fact that the small screen TV in our rented beach house only received 1 channel. Adventure North Resort advertises TV's in every lake home, but fails to say that some TV's do not get basic reception.
Due to professional demands and a need to stay connected, we specifically asked if there was wireless internet service available in the Beach House lake home when we booked the lake home. Proprietor, Shay Fortier personally assured me that there was wireless service in each of her lake homes. The second disappointment with Adventure North Resort was the lack of wireless internet service available. The only place we could get internet service was by going to the small, uncomfortable, out-dated, cluttered office. This was not conducive to work and there were often other guests cramped into the small space, all desperately seeking internet access.
The third disappointment with Adventure North Resort was the arrival of construction contractors and earth moving heavy machinery. We were awoken in the early morning hours to the roar of heavy machinery. Much to my dismay, I witnessed trucks hauling large frequent loads of sand, dumping them near the front door of our lake home. The heavy machinery continued to haul load after load of sand from in front of our rented beach house dumping it in and along the shoreline of Leech Lake. The path they took started near our front door and proceeded along the full length of Lake Home property, in the front of our deck along the shoreline, obstructing our promised and peaceful lake view. The construction made the beach and water access a dangerous, noisy, and unnerving prospect. Conversation was impossible over the roar of the heavy hauling equipment. This activity continued until past 6:00 P.M. After two days of this activity, we decided to leave early.
The fourth disappointment with Adventure North Resort happened when I approached the proprietor, Shay Fortier, indicating my desire to talk over my disappointments, she defensively exclaimed that she "did not know when they (contractors) were coming and that it was not her fault." Sensing that this conversation would go no where, I informed her of our early departure. She then spitefully offered that she was not willing, nor was she contractually obligated to provide me a refund for early departure. Further stating that she would be happy to call the Cass County Sheriff, so that he could "determine how much we owed for our stay." Never having mentioned anything about the cost of our stay or refusal to pay, I was dismayed when the Cass County Sheriff representative arrived. Shay escorted the Cass County Sheriff representative to our rented beach house and proceeded to provide me with the contract and bill, and I directed her to use my credit card on file for payment and she sneered as she walked away
My final disappointment was when Ken, the representative from the Cass County Sheriffs office told me a person should expect this; it is construction season in MN.

  • Liked — Beach Front Location
  • Disliked — Proprietor, Limited TV service, no wireless service in unit, construction equipment noise and nusance.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank GypsygirlMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeechLake, Owner at Adventure North Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2009
Dear Travelers,
I want to reply to Gypsygirl's review of our northern Minnesota resort. Here in the northern woods we do not received quality TV reception, this is why we have over 200 movies in our office for guests to help themselves. Many families like the idea of little TV on their vacations. Unfortunately our internet connection was down the first three days Gypsygirl was visiting and we did everything we could to accommodate her. Gypsygirl became upset when our landscapers delivered equipment during her stay and began work during her last day as a guest. My husband and I wanted to be accommodating, although while letting her know we could return a portion of her remaining bill, we were cut off by her angry statement that Gypsygirl was not going to pay for her vacation at all, at which time we informed her that the local sheriff is who settles these disputes and he would be out to talk to her. Between the sheriff, my husband and I we again decided to give her a discount on the stay, when we approached her cabin we were again met with complete anger and rage that there was no way to offer her an olive branch. This was a case of an angry person taking it out in an emotional manner when we were ready to offer a way of recovering the last evening of her vacation. Following her vacation she has tried to stop the credit card charges, called the Department of Natural Resources and the county to hopefully report us for not having a permit for the 2 day landscaping project - which we did already have. Thank you for understanding this was an unfortunate and rare event at our resort. Warmest regards, Shay Fortier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walker hotels
4.9 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 7 in Walker
389 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
178 reviews
5.3 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
25 reviews
4.6 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
7.1 mi away
Anderson's Northland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure North Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure North Resort

Property: Adventure North Resort
Address: 4444 Point Landing Dr NW, Walker, MN 56484-2667
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Walker
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from every day at Adventure North Resort, located on Leech Lake in the heart of Minnesota. Families and fisherman alike will enjoy the private resort setting, large reunion lake homes and cozy cabins. Enjoy our heated swimming pool, sandy beach with water toys and protected covered harbor. There's always something to do at Adventure North Resort, with recreational activities including world class fishing, all kinds of boating, hiking through forests, biking 100''s of miles on paved trails, golfing at one of our area golf courses, and much more! We take care of the little things so that you can enjoy a relaxing vacation. Our clean, Up-North lake homes offer full kitchens and baths, sun decks or screened patios, air-conditioning and magnificent views of the lake. For your comfort we provide fresh kitchen and bath towels. During the summer months we have everything needed for fishing and family fun: • Heated outdoor pool with slide • Sandy beach with kayaks • Playground • Scenic Lake Homes, • Lake Toys with Jungle Jim Pyramid • Protected Covered Harbor & Great Fishing For the fisherman we have a protected covered harbor with slip rental and: • Full service harbor staff • Free launch service for your boat • Free fish cleaning and we even package your fish for travel • Free trailer storage • Boat and pontoon rental Take a minute to look at our web site and please let us know if we can provide any additional information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing