We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in a jacuzzi suite. The room was clean. Average size with the jacuzzi jammed in the corner by the bed. This room did not have a microwave or fridge which would have been nice. Our friends stayed in a 2 room suite. It was also nice. The fireplace didn't work but they got a discount for that problem. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlnfun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

The area is wonderful! The casino is great. The rooms are good. The food is terrible. Staying here is a good option for those looking to explore the Leech Lake area but go into town for grub because the food at the buffet was inedible. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly just don't expect this to be at the same level as some other bigger casino resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you don't want to awake to kids playing at 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had a nice stay in this hotel. Room was pretty average. Basic but modern. Not high end, but worth what you pay. Room was clean, no complaints really. Friendly staff, but not very efficient at the front desk. Had a good breakfast at the restrauant for about $7.

Room Tip: you get a deal and coupons when you check in with your member card for the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Resort is located in very nice area in Minnesota on lake. Rooms are modern and clean and the Buffet in resort is ABOVE average with excellent selections. Staff is friendly and curteous and Casino is good size and excellent payouts. I walked away a winner! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wailinsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My Fiance' and I spent an evening here and had a great time, we didn't win a ton of money, but didn't end up going over our budget.. nor come with the notion of going home rich.. The casino workers were helpful and courteous. The front desk worker was very personable and helpful. The rooms was comfortable and the pillows were wonderful... We also enjoyed the live music on saturday night. The food was also very good.
We will be back..

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lollypop0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We were very impressed with the hotel and the staff. The hotel and rooms are tastefully decorated in a woodsy decor with native art. The room was extremely clean and in excellent shape.It was very quite considering that 2 bus loads of guests were staying there.The pool is one of the nicest and warmest we have seen in a hotel.The staff in the hotel and the casino were very friendly and helpful.We were greeted with happy faces from all the staff. We found the casino easy to get around and not too noisy.The winnings were better than any casinos we have been to in the past couple of years including Vegas .Most of the slots are penny slots --many new games. Northern Lights Casino has a good restaurant on the 2nd floor--a bit pricey for supper but good for breakfast. The buffet is small but serves good food with yummy chicken and wild rice soup and my favorite--pyrogies.Get a players card for $1.00 off meals and a casino rate for the hotel. It is is located 40 miles south of Bemidji and 200 miles north of Minneapolis Minnesota in a beautiful north woods area 4 miles from of Walker. The area is surrounded by wooded hills and Leech Lake--great for fishing or outdoor activities. The little town of Walker has some unique shops and nice restaurants Overall we consider this a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

My husband & I stayed at this Indian Casino in Northern MN for our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed 2 nights and 2 days. We gambled quite a bit while we were there and never won a thing!! I have spoke with others who have gambled here and they tell me the same thing. Very tight machines, must have to pay for extra help to clean beds or something, read on. if you stay here, be sure to check your bed before crawling in. We had a black pile on our bed spread and they had just made the bed that morning. It was exactly what you think it was, my husband even smelled it. They offered to come and get us another bedspread to replace this one they had just put on a few hours earlier. We didn't trust any of the bedding after that...

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank MinnesotaMjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walker hotels
3 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#1 of 7 in Walker
211 reviews
4 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
409 reviews
4 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
10.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Walker
27 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Northland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Hotel & Casino

Address: 6800 Y Frontage Road NW, Walker, MN 56484
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Walker
Northern Lights Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing