We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, Modern, Comfortable, Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Lights Hotel & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic, Modern, Comfortable, Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had a nice stay in this hotel. Room was pretty average. Basic but modern. Not high end, but worth what you pay. Room was clean, no complaints really. Friendly staff, but not very efficient at the front desk. Had a good breakfast at the restrauant for about $7.

Room Tip: you get a deal and coupons when you check in with your member card for the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    10
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
20
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Resort is located in very nice area in Minnesota on lake. Rooms are modern and clean and the Buffet in resort is ABOVE average with excellent selections. Staff is friendly and curteous and Casino is good size and excellent payouts. I walked away a winner! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wailinsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

My Fiance' and I spent an evening here and had a great time, we didn't win a ton of money, but didn't end up going over our budget.. nor come with the notion of going home rich.. The casino workers were helpful and courteous. The front desk worker was very personable and helpful. The rooms was comfortable and the pillows were wonderful... We also enjoyed the live music on saturday night. The food was also very good.
We will be back..

  • Liked — the pillows for certain
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypop0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We were very impressed with the hotel and the staff. The hotel and rooms are tastefully decorated in a woodsy decor with native art. The room was extremely clean and in excellent shape.It was very quite considering that 2 bus loads of guests were staying there.The pool is one of the nicest and warmest we have seen in a hotel.The staff in the hotel and the casino were very friendly and helpful.We were greeted with happy faces from all the staff. We found the casino easy to get around and not too noisy.The winnings were better than any casinos we have been to in the past couple of years including Vegas .Most of the slots are penny slots --many new games. Northern Lights Casino has a good restaurant on the 2nd floor--a bit pricey for supper but good for breakfast. The buffet is small but serves good food with yummy chicken and wild rice soup and my favorite--pyrogies.Get a players card for $1.00 off meals and a casino rate for the hotel. It is is located 40 miles south of Bemidji and 200 miles north of Minneapolis Minnesota in a beautiful north woods area 4 miles from of Walker. The area is surrounded by wooded hills and Leech Lake--great for fishing or outdoor activities. The little town of Walker has some unique shops and nice restaurants Overall we consider this a great weekend getaway.

  • Liked — quite, area and hotel,good casino
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

My husband & I stayed at this Indian Casino in Northern MN for our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed 2 nights and 2 days. We gambled quite a bit while we were there and never won a thing!! I have spoke with others who have gambled here and they tell me the same thing. Very tight machines, must have to pay for extra help to clean beds or something, read on. if you stay here, be sure to check your bed before crawling in. We had a black pile on our bed spread and they had just made the bed that morning. It was exactly what you think it was, my husband even smelled it. They offered to come and get us another bedspread to replace this one they had just put on a few hours earlier. We didn't trust any of the bedding after that...

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnesotaMjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walker hotels

MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

We stayed at the Northern Lights Casino and Hotel for 1 night.

The whole property was very clean. The hotel room was generous. We had a standard 2 bed room.

The Lunch Buffet for under $7.00 had a nice selection of food- lots of different entrees. The Bar B Que ribs were my favorite. The wild rice chicken soup was the best I have eaten. The cream pies were a disappointment-they seemed slighly frozen.

The town of Walker is 4 miles away. It has lots of "cabin" type specialty shops. Fun to spend a few hours shopping.

There is more to do in summer when Leech Lake, one of Minnesota's largest lakes, is not frozen. However, there are plenty of winter sports like ice fishing and snowmobiling if that is to your taste.

Casino was clean, but was not smoke free. Free beverages were offered frequently. Lots of 1, 2, and 5 cent machines. Employees were friendly and all wished us good luck.

We would return again.

Scenery was great, road up was good.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

My husband and I met my brother and his significant other for a winter get-away at the Northern Lights. We thought the long weekend was great!! We all won money at the casino and really enjoyed the entertaining atmosphere around the whole hotel. It snowed before we arrived so the scenery was beautiful-- a winter wonderland. We enjoyed the Restaurant(Fireside?) and also the buffet as you could choose from a large selection of some healthy food and also could really indulge if you were so inclined. The rooms were very clean as was the entire hotel(I'm a little phobic about hotel cleanliness so I was really happy about the clean rooms).
The down side of the entire facility was the large amount of cigarette smoke that was in the air. It was a busy weekend and the smoke cleared on Sunday and Monday. I know that every place in Minnesota can not be smoke free but less smoke would be nicer.

None-the-less we do plan another long weekend retreat this winter because it is a good place to relax and we had a lot of good fun!!!

  • Liked — cleaniless
  • Disliked — cigarette smoke
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipper2Moorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walker hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 8 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.0 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#4 of 8 in Walker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.6 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Northland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Hotel & Casino

Property: Northern Lights Hotel & Casino
Address: 6800 Y Frontage Road NW, Walker, MN 56484
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Walker
Northern Lights Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing