We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Good, old-fashioned diner--great breakfast"”

The Outdoorsman Cafe
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Walker
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Paul
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Good, old-fashioned diner--great breakfast"”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We enjoyed our traditional breakfast here--a short walk from Chase on the Lake, where we were staying. We each had the breakfast special--eggs over medium, bacon, toast, and yummy crispy hash browns. Not fancy, but friendly, speedy service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Estevan, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Typical small town cafe with great food. I had the breakfast special burrito which was very tasty. The omelette for my wife was great also. Prices very reasonable. Only mark in the negative was it was quite warm inside but not unbearable. A/C was obviously not working. This was our second visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ehrmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
232 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Noisy, friendly, old-school GREAT stop for a hearty breakfast.
Highly recommend the eggs benedict or any of the breakfast burritos - if these are the way the rest of the menu items are prepared you definitely can't go wrong. It's a fun stop with old fashioned value added meals!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad food and value”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

You don’t have a ton of choices in Walker for breakfast. The choices you do have frankly aren’t that good but this is close to the worst. I have visited this restaurant a number of times over the years and the food has always been fairly poor. The scrambled eggs are just broken on the griddle and stirred. The Hashbrowns are oily and mushy. The meat is pretty standard. To top it off the prices are fairly high at around $10 for a standard American breakfast or omelet (drink is included). They also charge $1 for an extra plate should you wish to share your meal with a child. The service ranges from ok to poor. The atmosphere is fine for what it is. I recommend the 502 only because of the view, but don’t get too excited about the food and service over there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tator320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible food that was costly.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had 2 eggs over easy, hashbrowns and toast. The eggs were good but the toast was very thin with no flavor (cafeteria type bread) and the hashbrowns were stringy. I believe the cost was over $8.00. The ketchup was some odd brand (tasted terrible). The kids got pancakes that were very hard to cut. Our total for 4 people was over $40.00! The hotel's buffet of all you can eat was less. $5.00 for kids and $9.00 for adults. Better deal and better food. Reviews said this place was good. Would not recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Outdoorsman Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Outdoorsman Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing