We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn Walker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Inn Walker
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

No complaints whatsoever. The entire hotel was very clean including the lobby, hallways, breakfast area, as well as our room. Friendly staff. The breakfasts - in my and my husband's opinions - were great, and Mary really hustled to keep everything full as well as clean. There were scrambled eggs and seasoned potatoes one day, biscuits with sausage gravy another, french toast and sausage patties another day - this besides the usual fruits, cereals, breads, English muffins, bagels, muffins, yogurt, cream cheese, and waffles! Yes, there may be some carbohydrates there, but what do you expect? It's not a restaurant! This was much more than we've EVER seen in a hotel for a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast. They were tasty and more than enough of everything! It was a quiet location. No, there is no access to the lake or much of a view of it, but if that's what you're looking for you might want to go somewhere else. It was a beautiful location with trees around most of it and within a short driving distance to most anything in the city. There were also cookies and coffee available in the lobby at all times. Also another pleasant surprise was that our water for showers was always hot AND soft, and it didn't seem to matter what time of the day we showered. We'll definitely go back if we ever are in that area of the state again!

Room Tip: When we called for reservations we were told there were no rooms available, but actually found this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Happytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
WOW ... thank you so much. We are so happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay and our staff. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again if you make it back to the Walker area. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    35
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
57
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a nice quite, clean hotel. The front desk team was very friendly and helpful.

Its pretty close to the casino and very close to the city of Walker. About a 1/2 - 1 mile for each destination.

The price is generally pretty good, however I stayed there when Moondance was going on so the prices were a bit higher.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingqueen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your awesome ratings and comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to take in the Moondance Event. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nothing but great things to say about the hotel. Would definitely stay here again. I'm just glad there were no train tracks near by. About the only critical comment was the breakfast could be a little bit more but that isn't a make or brak deal on the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballdadBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome ratings and wonderful comments about the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you like carbs, then you will like this breakfast. Nothing but carbs. Not even hard boiled eggs. Well there were bananas, but they were gone right away. The yogurt was hidden in a tiny refrigerator under the counter - but that was gone right away too.

There was no access to the lake. The view of the lake was blocked by huge trees.

The pool was nice - but the jets on the jacuzzi were broke.

No elevator

People were smoking in their rooms in the non-smoking section and the staff did nothing about it

No fitness center

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments ... we will use them to improve the areas that you mentioned. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here the weekend of July 13th. The hotel is charming and the staff was friendly. My four-year-old especially liked the free cookies that were available near the front desk.
The rooms themselves were simple, in my opinion, but simple does not mean "bad". The beds were soft and clean (almost too soft for my liking, and I often woke up with a sore back - but that is no fault of the hotel). Also included in the room was a microwave and a mini fridge, which I thought was a great addition. We did not use the microwave, so I am unable to comment on that, but the fridge worked well!
The bathroom was clean as well, and it was nice to be able to easily figure out the shower controls.

The breakfast area offered hot foods as well as cereals, donuts, bagels, etc. I thought it was delicious.

The hotel also offered guest laundry facilities for not too high of a price. I did not use them, so I am unable to comment how well they washed/dried clothes.

There is also a pool at the hotel, but I did not use that, either.

All in all, this is a great little hotel. Clean rooms, friendly staff, hot breakfast. Will definitely try to stay there again the next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drynian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your outstanding comments about our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Walker area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRYSTAL RIVER
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent three nights at the Country Inn in early July. The room was fresh and clean, the breakfast was good and we enjoyed the cookies every afternoon. The location is ideal for cycling the wonderful trails in the area, with trail access right at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating for cyclists, even giving us old towels to use for cleaning our bikes. They let us leave our vehicle in their parking lot while we cycled overnight to Brainerd. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLSCrystalRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
WOW thank you so much for your outstanding comments and rating of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass it along to the rest of the staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room was exceptionally clean and smelled of bleach. The bedding was bright white and also smelled of bleach. The staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful. Coffee and cookies were available 24/7. The air conditioner did seem to be a little loud when running, but not enough to keep us awake. Breakfast was your average hotel breakfast buffet. A reasonably priced hotel.....we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnwalker, General Manager at Country Inn Walker, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your terrific ratings and wonderful comments about our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your guest room. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Walker area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.0 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 8 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#4 of 8 in Walker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.0 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
19.8 mi away
No photo provided
7.8 mi away
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Akeley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Walker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Walker

Property: Country Inn Walker
Address: 442 Walker Bay Blvd, Walker, MN 56484-2157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn Walker 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of tranquil Leech Lake, and surrounded by the majestic Chippewa National Wildlife Refuge, you will find Country Inn of Walker the perfect hotel to stay at on your next Minnesota vacation. Located just minutes from downtown Walker's unique shopping and dining you will find something for everyone. Fishing, golfing, biking, water sports, sailing, snowmobiling, the Walker area offers an abundance of recreational activities. Home of the annual classic rock festival Moondance Jam, Jammin Country Fest and the Eelpout Festival, attracting anglers and music lovers from all over the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn Walker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Walker Hotel Walker
Walker Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing