We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic porperty with character!”
Review of Chase on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chase on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Manitoba
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Historic porperty with character!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This property has been restored keeping it's histric significance in mind, making it a great place to stay! Artwork was a little "weird"; rooms could be better accented; but otherwise they are new and fresh but with that old charm! Great place for a weekend getaway, we will be back! Restaurant service was poor, and food was mediocre; all too comman in a lot of resorts and hotels; but I would still patronize the dining facilities again; front desk service was very good.

Room Tip: splurge and go for the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJC_84_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    78
    46
    26
    17
See reviews for
131
147
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great time at Chase on the Lake. We had a beautiful room overlooking the courtyard. The view of Leach Lake from the hotel was perfect, so beautiful. Loved dining on the deck overlooking the lake. Both the service and the food were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
357 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the 2nd time we stayed at Chase this summer and we enjoyed both visits. Even though the weather was cool and windy, we made the best of it by sitting around the very clean pool area. It was especially nice this time because it was so quiet - meaning, kids were back in school!

The room was clean and the king bed was comfortable. We had a great view of the courtyard and lake.

Downtown Walker was a short walk away and the stores are great; as are the many restaurants in the area; especially Jimmy's and the Outdoorsman.

Room Tip: There are only three courtyard view rooms but try to get one for a great view at a lesser price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Girls weekend in a lakeview studio, and it was so nice; all the comforts of home. All the staff was so nice and helpful. We asked if there was going to be a fire on Sat. night on the beach, and the front desk called to have one started for us! The food in the 502 was all so good. What an amazing Chef! The thing we were most inpressed with was the Copper Door spa. I was a limp noodle after the excellent massage by Marsha, and the steam shower after the massage. You have to go there and see Theresa the spa manager and her priceless team!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Chose this spot to lunch one day after a business meeting based on a local’s recommendation. The beer was cold, the food very good and the view spectacular. Spent the better half of lunch looking across the lake and at the water and the rest of the time watching two bald eagles soar in the sky. Had the Cranberry bread BLT- excellent. Friendly staff, speedy and just a nice time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooBoo5496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a business meeting, but traveled with my wife and pet (Lab). WE all had a good time. There were convenient small shops to browse, a lake (Leech Lake) to gaze across and take photos of the great sunsets, and a staff friendliness of pets. We liked the room, staff, and breakfast. Oh yea, my meeting was great because there was a great convention center, good food and attentive staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful, old-fashioned hotel right on the lovely Leech Lake. Gorgeous grounds and decor. Generally very good service, excellent restaurant and bar. We greatly enjoyed 2 days of relaxing and pampering at the Copper Door Spa but there are many family oriented activities and amenities (pool and beach) for families with kids. Quant town with shops and restaurants is mere blocks away.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Walker Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
56 reviews
25.0 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
25 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
7.9 mi away
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Akeley
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase on the Lake

Property: Chase on the Lake
Address: 502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484
Location: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chase on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase on the Lake is nestled on the shores of Leech Lake, in the heart of downtown Walker, MN. Historic and unique, it offers elegance and charm, mixed in with the warmth of a 1st class resort venue. Beautiful classic and lake view hotel rooms, along with state of the art and gorgeous 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos, ensure a memorable stay at Chase on the Lake. Ownership opportunities are available with all of our Lakeside Condos. Special amenities may be enjoyed such as dining in our 502 restaurant, with patio seating; Copper Door Aveda Spa; Chaser's Bowling Alley and indoor heated pool and hot tub. All year round outdoor activities are available with fishing, swimming on our private beach and boating. In the winter months, Chase on the Lake offers beautiful trails for snowmobiling and ice fishing for Walleye on Leech Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Chase on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase On The Lake Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing