We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet overflowing, heater screeching, embarrassed handicapped guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wadena
Certificate of Excellence
Wadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Toilet overflowing, heater screeching, embarrassed handicapped guest”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

One of the staff admonished one of our guests, who came in before us, because we parked in a handicapped parking spot. Our guest said that yes, she was aware of that. The staff said again, "You parked in a handicapped spot." Our guest had to explain to the night desk clerk, that yes, the owner if the car is coming in, she is handicapped, and her handicap placard is hanging off the rear view mirror. The clerk then just said ok & walked away. No apology, nothing. It was embarrassing for my guest to be confronted like that & humiliating for me to have her treated like that & to have to have the fact that I'm disabled treated on such a way.

In another incident, earlier that day, by a different front desk personnel, my guest was in her room. The toilet started overflowing, so she called the front desk. My guest was asked if she wanted to come to the front desk for the plunger, or if she wanted it brought to her. She asked for it to please be brought. The hotel desk clerk brought the plunger & left. My guest had to plunge the toilet herself!!! The toilet didn't get working & when my guest went to wash her hands after she had to plunge the toilet herself, the sink wouldn't drain. She had to call back to the front desk & they changed my guest & her family to a different room, for the FIRST time that night!! Later, the heater started making a screeching noise, in the SECOND room & my guests was moved a SECOND time to a THIRD room of the night!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Suellyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnwadena, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am so sorry reading this response ... we had great communication with this issue and a pleasant departure. You were very lovely guests and we were pleased that you stayed at our AmericInn. I, again, apologize for the misunderstanding with the handicap parking area, we have had several guests in the past take these parking spots and have upset our handicap guests, I am sorry that the front desk representative did not check more closely for the card in your window before telling you that you would need to move to a different spot. I also again apologize that the toilet plugged in your first room, we have a safe and secure policy in place that our front desk representative can not enter a guests room when on shift alone and am sorry that they were unable to try and unplug your facility. Then having blower fan bearing seize up that night in your second room, we had the unit serviced the very next day, the tech had mentioned that he had been out on several similar calls due to the frigid below zero temp. You seemed content with the discount we gave on the stay and your guests shook my hand said it was no problem and wished me a Merry Christmas as we visited about their travel back to warmer weather. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing clean and comfortable accommodations. With the remodel taking place (completed by summer 2014) our property will continue to be a lodging leader in our area. Thank you again for staying with us and I am very sincere saying you were a pleasure having as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
9
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very welcoming, comfortable, clean and accomodating. Hot tub was HOT! Provided pool towels,apparently VERY used. Small, cramped breakfast area. Nice business center & fire place area. Close to casual/take out restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank GrandmaLala2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellendale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

this hotel was very five star quality. The breakfast was outstanding. The pool area in hot tub are one of the best I have been in. The staff were very friendly and rooms very clean.you could not hear your neighbors

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
271 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was at this location for only one night but it was very nice. My room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the staff was friendly. It's in a good location too, very easy to find. Next time I'm in Wadena this is where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is an older motel and is very clean. When we went to our room you could smell that it was clean. There was no odors that you typically can pick up on in the older places. Staff is friendly, service is great. The breakfast was good, more variety than you expect from a Mom and Pop. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped or have trouble with stairs ask for a room on the first floor. There are no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bam694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel has treated us like family for many years. The management at the Wadena AmericInn has been more than accommodating to me and my entire family as Wadena is our hometown, but all except one of us has moved away. The family environment of the hotel makes it very easy for my entire family to meet at this location. The kids have a blast in the pool area and the adults can sit In the pool area as their are plenty of chairs to gather for visiting.

Room Tip: Choose one at the end of the hall, away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the AmericInn in Wadena for a wedding recently. I can't say enough about how I was treated. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I was even greeted by the hotel manager. You can tell he knows how to treat his customers and make them feel welcome. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. If you're passing through this area and need a place to stay, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadena
17.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in Staples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites Parkers Prairie
22.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Thumper Pond Resort
Thumper Pond Resort
#1 of 2 in Ottertail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#2 of 5 in Wadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
23.2 mi away
Super 8 Perham
Super 8 Perham
#2 of 2 in Perham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena
Address: 695 Jefferson Street North, Wadena, MN 56482-2336
Location: United States > Minnesota > Wadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing