We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time”

Coffee Mill Motel and Suites
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wabasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coffee Mill Motel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wabasha
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

While traveling the bluffs of Southern Minnesota and enjoying the eagles in the Lake Pepin area, I stumbled across a quaint "ma and pa" motel. I was shown several newly remodeled theme suites that included Jacuzzi tubs, but opted for one of the "Chalet" rooms which is all I really needed on my budget. The manager was very accommodating in showing me various rooms and the owner, who is a Wabasha resident, gave me a lengthy history of the area which was very interesting. The property borders the Coffee Mill Ski Area and Golf Course and it was the break I needed away from the hustle of the city. There are many B&B's and Chain hotels in the surrounding areas, but this is not one of them. It's simple, clean and in a great location. Next time, I'll splurge and book one of the suites!!

Room Tip: The suites are newer and nicely done with either a Jacuzzi or a fireplace (or both), but on my budge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
6
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodward, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We travelled with our two granddaughters and stayed at the Coffee Motel. Horrible experience. No amenities, office locked from 7 PM to 11 AM, no ice, no breakfast, towels like sandpaper, no view, not clean, and way over priced. I asked the granddaughters to rate the place and they gave it 5 dump trucks for a rating. Would advise not staying at this location.

Grandpa and Grandma G.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyd,WI
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My daughter's Wedding was on June 9th, 2013. I looked on line for the bed and breakfast in the name came up as AL's coffee mill inn and suites. There were no pictures but I called inches of the had a room. I was excited to be able to stay at my first bed and breakfast only to get their and find out it was a motel. The gave us two keys one worked and when didn't, it was two beds with a TV table and chair which I could've gotten at the roadway and for $59.00 instead I thought I was going to the bed and breakfast so I was willing to pay $79.00 and with tax made it to be $ 86.80. When it told the lady about the ad on the Internet should look so surprised that they would be listed under a bed and breakfast. Be yet there was no pictures on the Internet. So this picture that's on this page right now is not and does not look like anything that I stayed at on June 9, 2013. A friend of mine stayed across the river in Nelson and had a place that would accommodate six couples and he only paid $75.00 for him and his wife.
I was devastated!!!!

Room Tip: This was a rip off. It's not a bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbucholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am put up in motels through the company I work for, and have had some good and bad experiences. This was the worst yet. My key was taped to the door and no one was around. The hotel itself looks as if it were built in the 60's and has not had any renovation done since. I can handle that. The room was dingy and dark. Not a major problem. I then did as I do in every hotel I stay in, I checked the bed. As I pulled back the fitted sheets, three bed bugs/fleas made a hasty retreat. I am now at the Americinn across the street and resting comfortably. I would suggest you stay else where in Wabasha, and if nothing else is available, go to a different town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, TN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the strangest experience we've ever had at a motel. We had advance reservations and when we arrived there was no one there and just a note with a phone number on the door. We did not have a cell phone available so we had to drive into town and find a phone to use. The manager said she would meet us at the motel in 10 minutes, which she did. After she checked us into our room she left and we never saw another human being again. There was no one on site nor were there any other guests. We were just to call her if we had any problems. I have a feeling this establishment is on a downhill slide and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurar12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is one of the worst places I have stayed at. The room was dirty and smelled of urine, the carpets in the hallway were dirty and the staff were rude. I didn't even stay for one night, I left after 2 hours and found a better hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Don't expect any coffee or tea or light bulbs or air. Room 13 was airless, stinky, had dirty carpet and was pricey to boot. Pick another place if you can. The name is charming, the place is not.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassij01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabasha
13.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
18.2 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
13.6 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#2 of 3 in Lake City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 2 in Mondovi
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wabasha
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Mill Motel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Mill Motel and Suites

Property: Coffee Mill Motel and Suites
Address: 50 Coulee Way, Wabasha, MN 55981-9639
Location: United States > Minnesota > Wabasha
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wabasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wabasha, Minnesota travel vacation getaway motel and suites with Cable TV, microwaves & refrigerators. Great for family vacations and exploring the Mississippi River Valley, experience and enjoy the hiking trails and wildlife in the bluff country, skiing and snowboarding in the winter, golfing, fishing, canoeing in the summer. Sandy helps you package the activities you like and gets you discounted rates to save you money. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing