We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Winter Get-Away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure
Ranked #1 of 2 Wabasha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Winter Get-Away!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A Bed and Breakfast that HUSBANDS are comfortable in! Big, comfortable leather furniture with lots of outdoor decor, delicious and hearty breakfast (cinnamon twisted bacon!), lots of "adventure advice" and local history. We both had a peacefully relaxing time and felt completely at home from the moment we stepped inside. Eagle Center is a must see in Wabasha and we can't wait to come back in the summer to kayak the Mississippi backwaters. Absolutely the best.

Room Tip: We toured all the unique rooms - if you prefer a bathroom in your room, the suites would be a good c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
246
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I recommend this to anyone who needs time away from the hustle and bustle of the city!
Very inviting, Michael and Richie are awesome chefs and very knowledgeable of the area!
Take the time to visit! I would recommend coming once a season the river is beautiful, the eagles are awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardinalwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

and we plan to return for the warm-weather version as well! This experience was beautiful from the moment we arrived and met the owners to the morning we said our farewells to them and the future owners of the B&B. The house is beautiful, the location is incredible (a couple blocks from the National Eagle Center and a river brimming with majestic birds), the food was perfect! We were excited to be the first guests for whom the future owners prepared the breakfasts, and we were bowled over by the beautify, the taste, and the perfectly matched components of each one.

Also, this is the first time we've stayed anywhere we felt not only comfortable, but drawn to hang out in all the common areas. Each room provides such a nice nesting place in which you can just chill or chat. This was so much nicer than any hotel experience we have ever had, we will gladly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vergne, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Found this gem doing a web search for Bed and Breakfasts. I am so thrilled we got a room for Valentines Day weekend. Everything was fantastic. The owners, the rooms, the food, it was all amazing. If you are looking for a get-a-way in a scenic town with an atmosphere far superior to any hotel book a room here! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Check their site and see pictures of each of the rooms. You can also look at the calendar for room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the moment we walked in to this place, we were utterly impressed! We received a warm welcome the moment we stepped through the door from co-owner Richie Mann who greeted us like old friends. The place radiated warmth and comfort with cozy furniture in the library/living room where you can settle in with a little (free!) wine and beer, private baths complete with Aveda products and every item from q-tips to razors, and luxuriously decorated rooms with quality furniture and soft bedding. In the morning, Richie made us the most heavenly breakfast of scrambled eggs with a mushroom/sausage/goat cheese crumble, cinnamon twist bacon, and yogurt. A few other perks included games for the kids, lots of INTERESTING books on the bookshelves, and access to all kinds of outdoor excursion gear like cross country skis, snowshoes, kayaks, etc. Richie's other business is adventure tours so he will help you enjoy the area to the fullest if you ask him to! We only booked for one night but wish we'd stayed longer. The price of our room was cheaper than the AmericInn chain in town with the larger rooms only being slightly more. This place has to be one of the best B&Bs you'll find in the nation! We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeePugTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I cannot rave enough about this place. It seriously is a gem in a charming little area. The rooms are impeccably decorated and the breakfast is to die for. My girlfriend and I were looking for a weekend to get out of the cities and this was the perfect and most relaxing way to do it. The owners did a great job at making us feel right at home!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My sweetie and I had a fantastic weekend at Turning Waters. Michael and Richie are the most wonderful hosts. They had great recommendations for local places to explore, cooked us a breakfast to die for and were warm and welcoming. Looking forward to making our winter weekend at Turning Waters a tradition!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kestrelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabasha
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
17.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
13.4 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wabasha
Show Prices

Been to Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure

Property: Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure
Address: 136 Bridge Ave, Wabasha, MN 55981-1499
Location: United States > Minnesota > Wabasha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wabasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turning Waters is not a traditional Bed and Breakfast; it is set apart by holding the spirit of travel and adventure in highest regards - bold travel, soft beds and nature’s wonder. Our environment epitomizes love of comfort, travel and adventure and I hope you can take something from it and make it your own to satisfy your soul and spirit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing