We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an overnight/weekend get away from the Twin Cities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure
Ranked #1 of 2 Wabasha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Golden Valley, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect for an overnight/weekend get away from the Twin Cities”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our Anniversary and it was even better than we expected! Richie is great, and as a young owner, has redefined the B&B business with his charm, design style for the house, and AMAZING creative breakfast. We appreciated all the little details that most places would not take the time to do. We stayed in the Coniferous Suite and it was perfect, with a super comfortable bed, great Aveda products and beautifully decorated! The morning breakfast was delicious with a unique sweet “twist” on bacon, a delicious banana, bacon & chocolate chip “pancake”, etc. etc. We are planning our next stay there in a few months, and we HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place to others as well as a place most males would truly appreciate!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coniferous room which was the only room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
259
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cresco, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Turning Waters this weekend and loved it! The house is beautiful! Richie goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. We stayed in the Coniferous Master Suite, The room was perfect! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Turning Waters for a one-night getaway from the Twin Cities, and we were quickly converted into big fans! Richie, Michael, and Patsy are warm, open-hearted hosts, and everything about the home itself is warm as well - thoughtfully decorated with elaborate woodwork and comfortable beds. And a seriously delicious breakfast! Turning Waters is a peaceful, inviting choice for a retreat with your sweetie, or your family, or your meditation group, or your team at work... enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everything was great! Breakfast, nice place to sleep and close to everything you need in Wabasha. Everything is within a 5 minute walk, food, drink, bowling and the Eagle Center. Richie, Michael and Patsy took very good care of us and we really enjoyed our stay. The best part for my son and I was the kayaking trip. It was awesome and my son said it was his best birthday ever. I would have never thought I'd go kayaking in November in MN. But we did and we both really enjoyed it. Richie guided us across the Mississippi into the backwaters on the WI side of the river. Excellent job! We really enjoyed our stay at Turning Waters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are in a Minnesota for a few weeks so that I can undergo medical treatment at the Mayo Clinic. We decided to take a mini-vacation for the weekend to see the Mississippi River Valley. After we saw the rave reviews for Turning Waters in Tripadvisor, we called and were lucky enough to find a vacancy. The place is charming and expertly run by Richie, Michael, and Patsy, three twenty-somethings who turned out to be some of the best bed and breakfast operators we have ever met. We instantly felt at home. After a glass of wine, we took a walk through the town's main street that run's alongside the river. It looks like a movie set from an old western. Breakfast was amazing, including fresh eggs from the chicken coop out back. This is a place I would strongly recommend for a wonderful weekend escape.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W_and_M_Parents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peter, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

When I first met Richie, who along with his friend Michael run Turning Waters, I thought, could someone this young manage all the details of a B&B? I soon found out the answer to that question was a resounding YES! From taking on the house's pre-B&B renovations to cooking the delicious and substantial breakfast, all the details are superbly covered. The real highlight though was how open and welcoming not only Richie and Michael were but their charming, small group of friends who add to the warmth and pleasure of this place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited for a night in the fall and every moment exceeded our expectations. The house is gorgeous, an old memory restored to beauty. The bed was incredibly comfortable and piled high with downy blankets. All of my favorites within walking distance - coffee, ice cream, the river. Thanks for a great getaway! We'll definitely return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabasha
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
17.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
13.4 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 2 in Mondovi
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wabasha
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure

Property: Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure
Address: 136 Bridge Ave, Wabasha, MN 55981-1499
Location: United States > Minnesota > Wabasha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wabasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turning Waters is not a traditional Bed and Breakfast; it is set apart by holding the spirit of travel and adventure in highest regards - bold travel, soft beds and nature’s wonder. Our environment epitomizes love of comfort, travel and adventure and I hope you can take something from it and make it your own to satisfy your soul and spirit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing