We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty”

Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pretty”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just south of Virginia is a little road you could easily miss but don't. The view is very pretty. That's all it is, a view but worth stoping. They have 2 big trucks you can take your picture by and a little gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This is steel comes from....”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We passed through Virginia, Minnesota on the way up north, and stopped by this place to show our kids where steel comes from. We came away with breathtaking views, but also a fun picture to float around to our friends in front of the HUGE, MONGO dump-truck! If you have a little boy who loves construction vehicles, you MUST go. If you have a family who might be interested in a 1/2 hour rest to see some magnificent country, industry, and maybe get a little education on the stuff the Iron Range" is known for, take the short drive up and take a look. It is worth the trip either way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sisugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“We turned around and drove 10 miles back to see it - well worth it”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What an amazing view! I just caught a glimpes of the mine and it took me 10 mins and 10 miles searching and reading on my iphone to find out what I had seen. We turned around, drove back and were soooo glad we did. We lucked out and was there at the same time a former mine employee was up there taking some pictures. We learned so much more that ever possible from reading what was posted around. The mine at the base of the lookout area, which closed in 1977, is large but nothing compared to the one across the hwy. The size of the equipment on site, plus the size of the open pit across the highway was amazing! On top of it all, it's free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
340 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good View with Big Mining Equipment”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

A great view of the Virginia MN valley and former open pit mine filled with water. Gift shop had lots of local crafts.
Place a pin on the map of Minnesota, the USA or the world indicating your home.
Good photo opps with the big equipment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank richie1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the drive in..Enjoy and picnic with this great view.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just a short drive off highway. See close up the Production Truck and overlook the beautiful water. Shop for souvenirs. Very enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNnorth_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineview in the Sky also viewed

 

Been to Mineview in the Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing