We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop for Breakfast; Stay to browse!”
Review of Louise's Place

Louise's Place
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Description: Louise has always loved to feed people, starting with her own family. She understands that good memories, and warm friendships are often anchored to sharing food together. So, starting a restaurant 15 years ago, where friends and family could gather, was a natural. What makes Louise’s Place unique is her personal blend of quality, fresh ingredients and attention to making your order just the way you like it.Turn down to the Big Lake where Louise’s Place looks out at Agate Bay.
Restaurant details
Description: Description: Louise has always loved to feed people, starting with her own family. She understands that good memories, and warm friendships are often anchored to sharing food together. So, starting a restaurant 15 years ago, where friends and family could gather, was a natural. What makes Louise’s Place unique is her personal blend of quality, fresh ingredients and attention to making your order just the way you like it.Turn down to the Big Lake where Louise’s Place looks out at Agate Bay.
Small town North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stop for Breakfast; Stay to browse!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Louise's is tucked away between a pub and a pizza joint on the road to the Waterfront. Doesn't stand out as "the Place to be", but we decided to try it based on the reviews here. We are glad we did! Ordered breakfast at the counter then sat down at a quilt-topped table to soak in the surroundings, which were warm and cozy. There were even handmade quilted coasters on each table. Coffee was brought right away by a friendly gal (We asked, but she said she wasn't Louise). The room is swathed in handmade crafts, and Oh!...the quilts and quilt tops! Sounds like the crafts are done by a group of women, but the quilts are done by Louise herself. Breakfast arrived--good, homemade like at grandma's house! Take time before you leave to browse, and don't forget the treasures in the basement! Next time we plan on making a stop to try her lunch offerings!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustbunny247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    33
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Two Harbors, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Favorite find!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I came to Two Harbors for our honeymoon and, not knowing the area well, decided to look on TripAdvisory for a place to eat. We both are sure glad we did because this was an excellent experience! The staff was very kind, friendly and genuine. My wife found the decor very cute and I thought it was very homie. We both got the Louise's Club sandwich and would recommend that- very delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandd4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfy”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A nice place to stop for a cup of coffee and a little something after an early morning walk. Lots of locals which is always a good sign. And you cannot beat their prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmwinkworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Adorable small town feel.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small cute place.
Good coffee.
Locals hang here.
All the pastry we had was fresh and soft and sweet.

I assume the woman who served me was Louise...not sure. But she was very friendly and sweet.

You can order cooked breakfasts with eggs etc. When you walk in it does not seem that way at first as there is only one staff member at the counter.

It is an eclectic mix of crafts and unmatched tables. Basically a simple place with nice people and yummy cinnamon rolls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monarch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
Level Contributor
214 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stopped here for a quick breakfast based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. This one was a winner! Selection wasn’t huge, but the food was fresh, hot, and delicious! Breads and baked goods were also extremely good. A super neat little shop to with homemade quilts and crafts for sale. My wife loved it and ended up buying some as gifts for family. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickP873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louise's Place also viewed

 

Been to Louise's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing