We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"simply" the best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bob's Cabins on Lake Superior's North Shore
Reviewed October 19, 2008

What we were looking for was exactly what we found at Bob's Cabins on Lake Superior. The cabins are simplistic but have the quiet and peacefulness that you can't find anywhere else! At night the only light is the light of the moon. There are no frills here, just the majesty of the great outdoors along with the awesome lakeshore right outside your window. If you need a quiet place without telephones, tv, fireplaces, ice machines, this is it! We read, wrote, ate, walked, and sat in awe of the lake. The shoreline is a bit rocky but there are benches at the bottom of each set of steps scattered along the property. The cabin was spotlessless clean.... with adequate kitchenware to make due for some simple cooking. The "office" provided a library and there were games for all ages available too. This is the place to get away from the city. We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linenminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

We just got back from four nights at Bob's Cabins and had a wonderful time. We booked our stay after reading reviews on here, so we had a good idea of what to expect. The cabin was fantastic, with everything we needed and nothing more-we really appreciated the simplicity. The view from our cabin was beautiful. It was the perfect place to sit and read on the porch, build a campfire and drink coffee and tea. The cabin was clean and the staff friendly. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank meghanandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Our small family (two parents, two-year-old) just spent four nights at Bob's Cabins. It was exactly what we expected in terms of lodging, and better than we expected in terms of surroundings.

May is still pretty early in the season at the North Shore, but the cabins had adequate heating. The resort was almost empty, so we got the small beach to ourselves. The toddler played in the pebbly sand and threw rocks in the water to her heart's content.

The cabins are clean, but not new. We liked the homey, slightly retro, "shabby chic" feel of the decor and the mismatched but adequate cutlery and plates. Some guests might find it more shabby than chic, but we considered Bob's a bargain considering the five-star views of the lake right outside our door.

The proprietors are also very conscious of preserving the environment on their property, which we also appreciated. (They encourage guests to conserve water and recycle, for example.)

There are few self-catering offerings on the North Shore for couples or small families; many of the newer condos and cabins offer amenities for much larger groups. Bob's Cabins is almost unique in this respect.

Anyone looking for slightly better decor, fireplaces, TVs, microwaves, and fire pits (along with a correspondingly higher rental rate) might want to check out the Breezy Point Resort, a couple of miles down the road from Bob's. We dropped in one morning and found that they offer similar-sized cabins, but are a little more spiffed up, with a few more amenities, but still not luxury.

Don't forget to stop by the Mocha Moose, in Larsmont between Knife River and Two Harbors, for an excellent coffee beverage and very friendly service from owner Patty, if you're staying in the area or just passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gaelharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My Wife and I decided to look for a motel in the Duluth area as we passed through on vacation, and by word of mouth from the visitor center in Two Harbors came upon one of the most charming places to stay that can be imagined.
We stayed in a small cabin on the lake front and was put to sleep by the sound of the waves against the rocks; I can only desribe it as one of the best nights sleep I can remember.
I woke up early because I thought the sun was coming up only to find the Moon shining across the water as bright as can be. When the Sun did start to come up, I was on the rocks enjoying the moment and decided to start taking pictures.... I hope you enjoy the photo's, ......but they can't put the sound of the waves in them for the ultimate feeling. Thank you staff for your hospitality, My wife and I look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Pestome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Four of us (two couples) recently stayed at two of the small wood frame cabins at Bob's Cabins, near the town of Two Harbors, MN. We enjoyed our three nights there immensely! Furnishings were simple, but totally adequate to cooking simple meals, either in the kitchenette or on the provided grill. One July evening was quite chilly, so we had a little fire at the lakeshore and watched the sun set. Once or twice we used the heaters indoors for a while in the evening, but mostly it was pleasant without extra heat. The view of Lake Superior filled our windows morning, night, and all day. We could walk down to the water easily across the rocky shore. Sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep every night. What a neat place!

We did a day trip to Split Rock Lighthouse, about half an hour away. Our friends played golf at the Lakeview National Golf Course, where they reported that many holes had views of L. Superior.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
5.3 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
451 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
45 reviews
22.5 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Cabins on Lake Superior's North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Cabins on Lake Superior's North Shore

Address: 664 Old North Shore Rd, Two Harbors, MN 55616-4003
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bob`s Cabins On Lake Superior`s North Shore Hotel Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing