We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2009

From the minute we stepped foot in our beautiful, 1-bedroom cottage we were impressed. The cottage feels like home, with everything there you might need: gourmet kitchen with appliances and dishware, 2 lovely bathrooms, large dining room, cozy living room with fireplace and a nice outdoor patio which looks out to Lake Superior. The lake is about 30 feet out the back door and you can listen to the waves crash, it felt like being at the ocean. The cottage was immaculate; all newly renovated. The Ledge Rock Grill restaurant was amazing---we had a fantastic dinner there with friends who drove up from Duluth because it is known as the best restaurant around. We will definitely be back, and next time we plan to bring more friends and family so they too can enjoy Larsmont Cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

This was our 2nd stay and just happened to be in the very same unit. The room overlooks the lake and is well done. Bad pillows and uncomfortable mattress - we gave negative fdbk the last time on this but nothing changed. The restaurant was the most disappointing. Risotto w/shrimp and pesto??? Extremely heavy on the pesto. Northern Lakes Chowder- it had many huge strips of sundried tomato with lots of wild rice. Strange combination. The next night we thought it would be safe to have their pizza. Bad choice-burned and strange taste. I will stay again, but I think we are over the restaurant. Really need to upgrade the pillows and mattress - for the price this should be a great sleeping experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cityman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We spent two nights here in a lakeview suite. The room is as lovely as the pictures on their website. We were close to the water and could hear the waves crashing at night. The room is small, but well equiped. The sunrise both mornings was amazing and the lakefront firepits in the evening stargazing were very relaxing and romantic. We picked out a couple of bikes and rode to Tom's for the tour and some shopping. We also enjoyed a couple's massage in the waterfront cottage. Some of the things we didn't enjoy were having to wait till the dining room opened at 9:00 for breakfast (we're early risers), and our dinner experience. We ate dinner our first night down the rode at Nokomis and that was a real treat. A beautiful view, good service, and our dinners were full of flavor. The dinner we had at Larsmont was not as good. The tomato appetizer was mushy and needed salt, the elk was overcooked as was the bison and both were chewy and lacked flavor. The carrot cake for desert was better. Our impression of the staff was that it felt like we were at camp and not at a resort. Maybe that's the way they want you to feel. The staff is young (including the chefs), and everything is very casual.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

A planned get away weekend exceeded our expectations. We arrived on a Friday afternoon, prior to the stated check in time, and were very pleased to hear our room way ready. We had reserved a one-bedroom cottage. The cottage looks just like the pictures. It was clean and organized. The cottage was set about 30 yards from the shoreline. It was a short distance to the main lodge, where the pool, restaurant, spa, store, bar, etc. are located. There is a bedroom suite upstairs. We did hear the guests come in and out the front door, but did not hear another sound all weekend.

We had dinner at the chef’s table on the second night we were in town. This is a MUST!!! Chef Todd and his staff are wonderful. The food was incredible, the service was great, the evening was incredibly entertaining and fun. Could not have asked for anything more.

I would recommend that you walk to Mocha Moose for coffee and a sweet roll. The Rustic Inn was also great. Betty’s Pies was a nice stop and do bring a treat back with you. The kitchen in the cottage is stocked so you can enjoy your pie when you choose.

Overall we would go again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Waiting4summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We had a great time at Larsmont. All of the staff was always ready with whatever we requested. Loved stoking the wood fire sauna then jumping in the lake. The unit we stayed in was spotless. The views were awesome.

We ate at the Ledge Rock Grill and it was awesome. Todd the Chef checked with us to ensure our meal was OK and it was more then OK.....it was great. The teen boys were into the spicy chicken flatbread and the macaroni and cheese.

The walleye is awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tladuke100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

When we go to the North Shore, we usually stay in Canal Park. The Larsmont's web site portrays itself as a "North Shore's Ultimate Luxury Cottage" so we decided to check it out. It is definitely NOT a luxury cottage. We rented a three bedroom cottage. From the moment we opened the door, we noticed the carpet was filthy. The whole kitchen and living room furniture had to be wiped down, as they were covered with dirt and some unknown sticky stuff. There we food and old candy wrappers on the floor. The coffee machine didn't work and spilled grounds and coffee all over the counter. When the front desk was informed, they acted surprised as if it couldn't be possible. Customer service and response is definitely lacking. We spent couple hours just wiping down and cleaning the cottage. With our initial experience, we didn't even consider trying out the restaurant. The cottages are on a great part of Lake Superior. But ultimately, we cannot and would not recommend this place to our friends. We've had great experiences and customer service at Bluefin, Canal Park Lodge, or Madden's on Gull Lake. Try them for a Minnesota experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etomidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had visited a family home at Lake Superior a few years before, and decided to go back there for our honeymoon. Living in the south, the lake is a far trip from home (3 hour plane ride + 4 hour drive), so I did a lot of internet research to figure out where to stay. Unfortunately, there aren't that many reviews of the North Shore online so I basically just looked at the pictures for each place. I picked Larsmont Cottages and could not have been happier with my decision!

The cottage was beautiful- everything looked brand new. The kitchen was amazing with granite countertops and a big island, plus a dining room. It was fully equipped with everything we could have needed. There was a gas fireplace in between the living and dining areas which we used almost every night. The bedroom was really comfortable, with a huge master bathroom with a tub and a shower, and an additional half bath (which was very much appreciated at times!) The floors were heated, which we didn't need to use in October, but I can imagine it would be very nice if you stayed there during colder months. The entire place was spotlessly clean.

The outside of the cabin was nice too. The front was nothing special, just the parking lot and a short walk over to the main lodge. We had a 2-person Adirondack bench behind our cabin facing the lake which we spent part of every day sitting and reading in- this was a very nice addition. One morning we woke up very early and tried to catch the sunrise, but we must have been on the wrong side or something because we couldn't see it. There was also a gas grill on our patio. There is an upstairs and downstairs, and we were downstairs with noone above us, so I don't know how the noise factors in.

We booked the honeymoon package so on the first day we started out with a couples massage in a separate cabin, with the window open to hear the waves. It was fun, but we would have appreciated a shower or robe- we had to put our clothes back on over all the oil! We ate in the restaurant 3 times and highly enjoyed our food. We were a little disappointed in the bar due to the lack of young people (or many other people at all) there, but I guess it just wasn't that busy that week... we did join in a few outside fires where we met a couple of other people. The bartender even made us drinks that we could take out to the fire with us! The staff was all very friendly, and there was a computer available in the lobby to check our email. We also hit the pool one day- it was a bit chilly as other reviews have mentioned, but we just moved out to the hot tub for a bit. The pool is indoors but the hot tub is outside. We only went that one time as it wasn't that fun in the cooler October weather.

We live pretty far away from the North Shore, but I love it there and would definitely choose to stay at Larsmont Cottages again. Especially compared to the photos I saw online of other cabins or hotels (which all looked old and dingy), Larsmont is a wonderful resort and I would love to go back again and again. It was the best honeymoon I could have imagined!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
6.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
451 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
522 reviews
5 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
21 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
534 reviews
20.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $91 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing