We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning to Brides!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Amery, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warning to Brides!!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ok this is amazingly overdue but it has been a crazy busy first year of marriage and I just haven't had the time to do this review. Anyway, my husband and I got married here last June 9th and I thought that having our ceremony and reception in one spot would save a lot of headache and I would only have to work with Bev Weckman to organize everything, I was wrong.

Things that went wrong:

-I was given the wrong table sizes so none of the linens that I rented fit right on the tables. I went over this subject many times through email because it was important to me and they still didn’t get the right sizes.

-I had my flowers sent straight to the resort from Sam’s Club bulk floral and on the day they were supposed to arrive I went to the front desk and the girl went to look for them and told me that they were not in the cooler. They had no record of getting my flowers and when I called the floral department they looked up the shipping information and they told me the person who signed for my flowers earlier in the day at the resort. The front desk girl called that employee to find the flowers. Basically, this took up more than an hour of my time and was quite stressful for the day before my wedding. I was not pleased.

-They close the main hall somewhere around 8pm so we did not have a lot of time to set up the night before

-Through email I asked if I could come to taste some entrees on January 14th and if it was too little of notice. She replied “No, that would be just fine with me.” When my husband and I showed up on the 14th the chef had no idea about any of this and didn’t have time to talk to us.

-When the dinner finally came around, no one knew what was going on and Bev Weckman who I had thought was supposed to be our personal planner was waiting tables in the restaurant as well as working my reception. There was little to no guidance on how we were supposed to order or anything and drinks were not brought to the tables, my guests had to go out to the main room and get it themselves.

Now some good notes:

-Jake the maintenance guy was incredibly nice and took care of everything that we needed from him including turning on the A/C for the two cabins we had rented

-The location is beautiful and the pictures turned out amazing!

-The cabins were the perfect set up for a rehearsal dinner and the Southernmost cabin has a cute path that worked perfectly for my wedding aisle and was quite private.

Overall, I suggest getting married on the beach and having your reception at a different location that has more experience with weddings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slelle30325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    87
    32
    21
    7
See reviews for
130
217
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have 3 children; a teenager and two toddlers. Needless to say, we need time together to make it through it all. We came up from the cities for a quick romantic weekend away. We got massages and ate at the Chefs Table for dinner (best part of our stay! Writing a separate review for that!) The grounds are so nice and maintained very well, even after all the snow melting. Loved the fire pit outside the main lodge and the huge outdoor Jacuzzi is perfect. I loved the location of this resort in comparison to other popular resorts; only about a half hour out of Duluth. I truly can't complain about anything.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Lakeside Cottage Suite. The room size was perfect, bathroom was huge and the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our first visit to Larsmont. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice appointments. Well worth the price. The rooms are also very private with few rooms available in each cottage building. This greatly reduces traffic noise. Perfect location for a romantic getaway!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My two young daughters and I stayed in a Lakeside Suite for a relaxing weekend. The room was lovely and the view of Lake Superior unbeatable. The room was a little tight with a king bed, which we requested, but the girls found space to play and we all enjoyed the gas fireplace. The bathroom was huge, and the girls loved the jacuzzi bathtub! With the mini-refrigerator, bowl, plates, utensils, and microwave we were able to eat several meals in the room. Even though it snowed four inches on Saturday, we had a great time playing board games in the lodge and swimming in the indoor pool and large outdoor hot tub. My only complaint, and it is small because I didn't do anything to try to solve the problem, was that we could hear every word of the movie being watched in the room next door until 11 on night. As the resort has a strict quiet time between 10 pm and 8 am, I suspect I could have called the front desk for assistance. I don't think it was an issue of too thin walls because it was the only time we heard the people in the other room.

Overall we had an excellent time, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAM_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed last weekend and it was amazing, the room (Lakeside Suite) was perfect for me and my girlfriend, very nice fireplace, Jacuzzi, and amazing view to the lake. I recommend it! It's pretty close to Duluth, Two Harbors and parks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Simply put, a wonderful place to stay in the Duluth/Two Harbors area. Large 40 acre property. Outdoor hot tub, sauna on the lake and outdoor fires at night are all hits with our family. Great food. Staff is very nice.

Room Tip: If you have family or traveling with Grandchildren... there are a few units on one floor. The small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjswanso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I take my sons up to the North Shore at least once a year. We've stayed in many cabins/resorts over the last few years. This is our second stay at Larsmont. Larsmont is pricey but when they offer their stay 3 nights get one free we usually take advantage of it.

We rented the two bedroom cabin in the woods which comes with a garage. We arrived, unpacked and started to settle in. We immediately noticed that the WiFi was not working properly. The free WiFi was part of the reason for choosing to stay at Larsmont. Jake, an employee at Larsmont just happened to be outside our cottage shoveling so I asked him for help. He dropped what he was doing and immediately started to try to fix the WiFi. He ended up finding the problem which couldn't be solved quickly so he worked with the front desk and they offered to move us to a different cottage. We repacked our stuff and moved to the other cottage only to find out that it was a 3 bedroom. They had graciously upgraded us for our trouble which turned out great. My sons each got their own bedroom and we didn't need to use the pullout. The only disappointment was that the WiFi connection was no better in this cottage. It would work for a short period and then we'd lose connection. We just decided to live with it as we felt that Jake/Larsmont went above and beyond to make us happy.

The interior of the cottage was very warm and homey. It comes with a lovely fireplace which when it's a bit chilly warms the cottage quickly. There is a full kitchen which we used and found that it had absolutely everything that we needed. I've found that in other resorts we've stayed at the kitchens tend to be sparsely stocked and usually what is there is in poor condition. That was not the case here. I was very impressed with not only the quality of the kitchen items but everything in this cottage. Did I mention that the tiled floors are heated? There is also a sunroom and the garage was really nice. It made unpacking/packing a breeze. The bedrooms were roomy and each had its own closet and tv. Everything throughout was very clean and they thought of everything. There were also two full bathrooms.

At the end of our stay, there was only one disappointment that we all shared. We found the beds to be very hard and uncomfortable. My oldest son mentioned that his back hurt when he got up and we all had difficulty sleeping at night. This continued throughout our stay. When we stayed at Larsmont previously we had stayed in one of the cottages on the lake and none of us remember the beds being a problem. This was truly a disappointment as we'd all love to return as we really loved "our" cottage in the woods.

Room Tip: The cottages in the woods come with a garage which was really handy. The WiFi is spotty so if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspenluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
6.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
430 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
509 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
21.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Property: Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing