We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty but...”

The Rustic Inn Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I arrived at 4:30 pm on a weeknight and was offered a lunch menu, although others around me were offered a dinner menu. I didn't mind it so much but certainly wondered why. I had the buffalo roast which was tasty, and along with the mashed potatoes certainly sufficient. I wondered if I got the luncheon portion or a dinner portion. What really threw me was when I received the bill - a gin & tonic was listed as a "premium drink" and charged $6.25!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    156
    48
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maribel, Wi, Usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited on a Saturday in mid-September. Arriving at 1:30 PM, we didn't expect to have to wait 20+ minutes just to sit down. We then had to wait way too long at every turn - to order, to get our food, to get our check, and even to pay!. When I got my walleye cakes, the menu said it would be on focaccia, but it looked more like Texas toast - almost 2" thick! The walleye cakes were good, but meager, and my sweet potato fries were just plain cold. For four of us, it took almost 2 hours from the time we arrived, and not because we were sitting around gabbing. For the prices we paid, I expected much more. I am not inclined to go here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We ate here for lunch. We had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated. A few people in my group had a hard time finding something they liked on the lunch menu. They don't have normal fries, only sweet potato fries, otherwise you can get a salad. The salad was ok, nothing special. It had these weird onions on it that no one in our group liked. The pulled pork sandwich was really good, but would have been nice with a side of actually fries. We got 2 pieces of pie to go. Pie was good, but I guess we all expected more. Seemed pricey for what you get. There is also a shop in the restaurant that has a lot of touristy gifts. Also a display of chocolates and other desserts in the restaurant. Staff was friendly and place is pretty small and gets pretty busy. We may try this place again but for breakfast only.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ames K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Husband and I ate here for breakfast on a Tuesday morning. We were the first ones in free try opened so things were very quiet and service was quick and friendly.

Breakfast menu was a wide selection of the usual breakfast dishes. The food came out super quickly and it was great. Usually breakfast food is so overly greasy. This was not. We enjoyed every bite.

I'd definitely recommend this place for breakfast. Food is just right and service is quick and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessagrausam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Terrific food. Our favorite restaurant. Pie is perfect and the food is plentiful and good. We love it there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank janbee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Inn Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Rustic Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing