We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great digs, but...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
OKC OK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great digs, but...”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We actually loved our one-night stay last week in the Forrest Room, as the room was plenty big enough for the 2 of us, and the bed was incredibly comfy, and the hostess (Rose) was so nice--and a great cook! Two thumbs way up for her breakfast! We were traveling with another couple, and they were in the Harbour Room--and they got NO rest. The noise from the fog horn, the clanging of the bell on the loading ship, and siren from wherever kept the 2 of them awake all night. I felt guilty for sleeping like a baby, we heard nothing in our room, which was right next door! Then there was the issue of the people in the 3rd room. One of them failed to turn the "occupied" sign on the bathroom door to "vacant", and 3 members of our party waited and waited and waited for the bathroom in the morning--each thinking someone was in there (I had gotten up way early, showered and dressed--and was downstairs drinking tea, wondering where everyone was!) Finally one of them went to the bathroom door and knocked, and found it vacant...Plus, that couple was so obnoxious, we couldn't wait to scarf down breakfast and get the heck out of there away from them!!!! I realize this is no reflection on the B&B, but it did sour my take on ever spending a night in any B&B ever again! This is a lovely place, and glad we did stay there, but "been there done that" as far as B&B staying is concerned.

Room Tip: Forrest Room was quiet and did have a view. Harbour Room had a view, not so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mailladysusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This lovely brick lighthouse is operational, so one of the treats of staying here is seeing its light reflect off the water of the lake at night. We slept with our window open in July and the sounds of the lake lulled us to sleep. The interior is quaint and welcoming and the grounds are yours for walking. While we were here, we were visited by a family of friendly deer in the evening. Breakfast was quite good. The entire experience was wonderful!

Room Tip: The Keeper's Room was quiet and had a lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buonviaggio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was a highlight of our trip up the north shore. Very clean, and friendly. Breakfast was tasty and hostess very kind and helpful. The view of the harbor fun to watch. And we had the lighthouse all to ourselves!

Room Tip: The harbor room had views of the lake tankers coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtdiggergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed in the very quaint 3 bedroom working lighthouse with my sisters and our spouses. Arrived late and had snacks waiting for us. Next morning we had to leave early to go dog sledding so Rose made us breakfast to go! We were there in March so still cold and snowy but a great view to Lake Superior. The Lighthouse has stories of being haunted (written in a log at the B&B) but unfortunately we were unable to "summons" the ghost. A side house had another nice couple there which we chatted with. Had a great breakfast on Sunday morning. Felt really comfortable bringing our own "adult beverages" and making ourselves right at home. The house is nicely refurbished with antique but very comfortable furniture.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mscoleman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A charming and unique experience. You have the run of the lighthouse during the evening. Breakfast is imaginative and tasty. It's served family style downstairs in a traditional family dining room. Very friendly staff. Beautiful grounds. Look forward to our next return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdumsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The fact that this is still a functioning lighthouse is what makes it special. Guests have access to the lighthouse at any time. We stayed in the Keepers Room, which had the best views of the lake. Even with all the other rooms occupied the shared bathroom did not create any problems. It was raining and incredibly windy during our stay, which made it very interesting to stay right on the lake shore and really drove home why lighthouse was there in the first place. The friendly caretaker cooked us a wonderful breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendenhall, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for recommending this place (and for telling us about the bathroom situation). Based on prior reviews that said that the lighthouse had 3 rooms and only one bathroom, we opted to stay outside in the "Skiff House". It was a cozy, romantic little cottage and we had a great time. The breakfasts were excellent both mornings and both afternoons there were "sweet treats" for everybody..
The ONLY complaint I had was that they did not make up and clean our room after our 1st night (we stayed 2 nights). The bed wasn't the issue--it was the small trash can that was running over because we had brought supper home with us the night before. If we hadn't had a plastic bag to put our "overflow" in the next night, we would have made a big mess!!
For a room that costs over $100 per night, I expect the room to be cleaned daily!

Room Tip: Like I said in the review, if you mind sharing a bathroom with strangers, rent the Skiff House!! Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dda601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
1.1 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
182 reviews
10.2 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
497 reviews
22.8 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
414 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
1.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Lighthouse Point, P.O. Box 128, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky shoreline overlooking Lake Superior and Agate Bay. The LightHouse Bed & Breakfast offers an overnight experience like no other. You can bask in the historical flavor of this turn of the century building then explore the diverse recreational opportunities and wealth of year-round natural beauty the North Shore has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bed And Breakfast
Lighthouse Hotel Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing