We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is perfect for a passing through stay”
Review of Voyageur Motel

Voyageur Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It is perfect for a passing through stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose this place as a resting stop on our way up the north shore from the twin cities. The lady who runs the place is the nicest person. if people need something , they just need to ask.
The place is right on hwy 61, so you will hear the traffic. if that bothers you. We slept just fine on our average to hard bed. What are you expecting from here , up scale luxury?? come on ....
The rooms are clean , the water is hot , in a great spot on your journey. If you need a quick , easy , relatively cheap place to crash on your north shore vacation , this works perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmz789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in here as we were passing through the north shore drive. This is a basic, no fuss no frills place. Comfy, warm and not expensive - we didn't need anything more. There is coffee on from 5am and it is not far from the towns bars and restaurants. The shower was good and powerful, the bed was comfy and heating easy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Chellis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had difficulty finding places to stay--lots of people traveling to see the leaves change. We decided to give this place a try because of the reviews. It was very disappointing. Our room was very small with a full-sized bed and a twin bed crammed into it. There was no air conditioning and our windows wouldn't open (other rooms did have open windows). The little ceiling fan did a pretty admirable job of cooling things down. Our biggest objection was the filthiness of the two chairs in the room. Nasty! Happily, the bathroom was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Two Harbors hotels

Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we were looking for a place to stay 1 night before camping.. we choose this place.. it was , clean, comfortable, affordable , nice, and we had a great nights sleep... Gigi ,,, was very nice , she gave us a home town feel.. we would stay here again..

Room Tip: if you are traveling with another couple .. rooms 5 and 6 work well ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It appears the reviews for this motel have either been very good or very bad. The bottom line is that the rooms for this old timey 9 room motel are somewhat small. However they are kept very clean and the lady I spoke with when registering was quite nice.
We paid $60.00 for the night we stayed there. I did check rates at the other motels in Two Harbors like the Americinn whose rates are more than double those at the Voyageur. The hotel is convenient to the Two Harbors restaurants, coffee shops and gas stations.
If you are needing a room to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay well over $100 for a fancier hotel, than I recommend the Voyageur.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose this motel for price since we were traveling. There was no air-conditioning, which isn't always needed in Minnesota, and it was an unusually hot day. There was a ceiling fan and a standing fan, which got us cool and comfortable quickly. The room was clean and fresh with a comfortable mattress. The owner was amicable and got us some ice from her freezer. There was fresh coffee very early in the morning. I do not like the nasty verbage from some reviewers, and wanted to give this business a review that was fair to the owner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I like the town of Two Harbors precisely because it is NOT a touristy place. Unfortunately, plans are being made for a waterfront marina (which may or may not help the local economy, but it will most certainly change the all-American working-class atmosphere that the town has always had).

A big plus about Two Harbors is the library, which shows foreign films monthly.

Another big plus is the Voyageur Motel. It is one of those good old-fashioned Mom & Pop operations that delivers all the basics: clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonable rates. It's a short walk from the lake, close to several good restaurants, with a laundromat next door. Antique lawn ornaments decorate the parking lot. Shower in unit 6 is big enough for two people! Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Carpeting, bed spreads, and curtains all in good shape. Pets are welcome. These folks work hard to maintain this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dakota C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
0.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2.0 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
23.2 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
522 reviews
23.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Property: Voyageur Motel
Address: 1227 7th Ave, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1153
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyageur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Voyageur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing