We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to Stay”
Review of Voyageur Motel

Voyageur Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we were looking for a place to stay 1 night before camping.. we choose this place.. it was , clean, comfortable, affordable , nice, and we had a great nights sleep... Gigi ,,, was very nice , she gave us a home town feel.. we would stay here again..

Room Tip: if you are traveling with another couple .. rooms 5 and 6 work well ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

It appears the reviews for this motel have either been very good or very bad. The bottom line is that the rooms for this old timey 9 room motel are somewhat small. However they are kept very clean and the lady I spoke with when registering was quite nice.
We paid $60.00 for the night we stayed there. I did check rates at the other motels in Two Harbors like the Americinn whose rates are more than double those at the Voyageur. The hotel is convenient to the Two Harbors restaurants, coffee shops and gas stations.
If you are needing a room to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay well over $100 for a fancier hotel, than I recommend the Voyageur.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose this motel for price since we were traveling. There was no air-conditioning, which isn't always needed in Minnesota, and it was an unusually hot day. There was a ceiling fan and a standing fan, which got us cool and comfortable quickly. The room was clean and fresh with a comfortable mattress. The owner was amicable and got us some ice from her freezer. There was fresh coffee very early in the morning. I do not like the nasty verbage from some reviewers, and wanted to give this business a review that was fair to the owner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cooley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I like the town of Two Harbors precisely because it is NOT a touristy place. Unfortunately, plans are being made for a waterfront marina (which may or may not help the local economy, but it will most certainly change the all-American working-class atmosphere that the town has always had).

A big plus about Two Harbors is the library, which shows foreign films monthly.

Another big plus is the Voyageur Motel. It is one of those good old-fashioned Mom & Pop operations that delivers all the basics: clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonable rates. It's a short walk from the lake, close to several good restaurants, with a laundromat next door. Antique lawn ornaments decorate the parking lot. Shower in unit 6 is big enough for two people! Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Carpeting, bed spreads, and curtains all in good shape. Pets are welcome. These folks work hard to maintain this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dakota C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel is located right off the main drag, making it easy to get anywhere quick.
The lady running the hotel was very helpful, and gave lots of tips for food in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazzlingdaveyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the Voyageur Motel for the first time At end of Sept and first of Oct.... I wanted to put up a review because there were some really bad reviews and I don't want people to be afraid to stay at this small motel...YES it is small, it is like the kind I used to stay in when I traveled when the kids were little...but the owner was kind, helpful and gave us good tips on places to eat..ALSO, the place was clean,t he sheets and bedding smelled clean and fresh...IF you want a place to lay your head and not interested in the high price of fancy hotels, this is a nice place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patricia_5754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Motel hostess was very friendly and helpful. If you need to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay the high prices of other area inns, Voyaguer Motel is a good option. Our room was not air conditioned, but had fans and was very comfortable. I will try to stay there again next year on out way up to Ely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2.0 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
10.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
522 reviews
23.2 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Address: 1227 7th Ave, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyageur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Voyageur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing